Tex-Mex Chicken and Rice Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Best tex-mex casserole. Loved the Mexican rice. We baked it for 55 minutes - would add another 1/4 c. liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
This casserole was AMAZING! I made a couple small alterations. One, I filled the soup can with water and used that instead of 1/2 cup and it worked great! I also mixed some cheese in with the rice, corn, soup, salsa mix because my boyfriend LOVES cheese and it made it really great. I suggest topping it with sour cream when you eat it! I will Definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I added a can of diced green chilies, black beans and black olives. I also added some cheese to the mix. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
My family loved this. Even my picky 5yr old!! It was sooo easy and quick to make also. Mix everything together in the same pan you cook it in. Less mess to clean up!! Followed the recipe exactly as written. Chicken came out nice and moist. Rice was perfect. Loved everything about this recipe. :) Not sure how people can rate this WHEN THEY CHANGE THE RECIPE!! It is good AS IS!! My kids are VERY picky and this is one recipe that they LOVE!! thanks for such a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristine
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
This recipe is EXCELLENT! (with my mods of course!) To give it more flavor and color here is what I did: I used 6 breasts since I was cooking for 5 people. I cut them into strips, and then halves, and cooked them in a skillet with chicken taco seasoning. For my rice mixture I used mild rotel instead of salsa, a soup can of water, almost a whole can of corn, 1 cup of rice, and one can of black beans. Topped it with my chicken peices and then covered the entire thing with a thin layer of chedder cheese. Baked for 45 minutes, and for the last 5-10 minutes I scattered sliced black olives on top. Served with a dallop of sour cream on the side and it was AMAZING! I had 0 leftovers and eveyone raved about it. We will be making this again for years to come. Next time I might mix the cheese with sour cream and some chopped jalapenos to spread on the top for extra flavor. SO GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colusa, California, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
My family (husband and kids 2, 4, and 12) really like this with my changes: Cooked cubed chicken breast in a pkg of taco seasoning (in pan with oil). Then added it to the pan with other ingredients (after adding the can of water to the pan to get all the seasoning from the pan).Used 1 can of water instead of 1/2 c. Also, added 2 cloves of raw garlic, & almost 2 c. of rice. Due to extra rice I added 1 can condensed ckn broth and 1 can water. Only added 1/2 c. of salsa due to taco seasoning and fear it would be too spicy for the kids. It was still a little spicy with taco seasoning (and I'm not afraid of spice, but my kids are picky about it) Waited till end to add cheese. I actually thought it was better BEFORE I added the cheese. In the future I will just top it with cheese when served. sorry, not sure if its fair to rate this with the change of using taco seasoning, but just wanted to give changes/info to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
This recipe was great! It is extremely customizable and pretty much everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jesivotchka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Horseheads, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
To those who are kind of tired of the do-or-die condensed soup recipes - in a pinch, I subbed a can of chicken gravy for the condensed soup. You don't even miss it! Tasted great! Ofcourse, you can always kick it up with hot sauce or peppers as I did too. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Loved it!! I added 1 package of taco sesoning mix instead of the just the paprika and 1 can of Rotel instead of salsa. Gave it more flavor. For EASY chicken I used Tyson pre-cooked diced chicken. Also great with either chili, pinto or black beans. Very versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikander409

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Oh man! I am not a fan of dishes with rice but this was SO GOOD! The kids just loved it! A new family fav!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama of four

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States