Tex-Mex Chicken and Rice Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
This was incredibly easy and SO good! I added a can of drained/rinsed black beans, used quick cooking rice, and added a little more water. I can't wait to make this again. I'm happy to have found a quick-assembly weeknight recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zionsville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hanny Manny
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I didn't have chicken breasts thawed so I used a can of chicken instead. I also added a can of black beans and extra corn. Ended up cooking it for one hour because the rice wasn't quite done at 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
AWESOME and EASY! I added a can of no salt black beans and because some reviewers noted it was bland I added generous sprinkles of smoked chipotle to the top of the chicken with the paprika. I also filled the can of cream of chicken with water to add a bit more liquid. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Quick, easy, and delicious. Not too mention it looks extremely appetizing. I followed what other reviewers said and added a full can of water instead of the 1/2 can the recipe suggested. Simply delicious. With all the household ingredients on hand, and such an easy recipes it gets 5 stars, and is definitely a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
This is a quick and easy recipe took all of 10 minutes to throw it together and stick it in the oven. It was very good as is. I made it again and needed to double it so I changed it to do that. I added one cream of chicken soup and one can of cheddar cheese soup. Instead of 2 cups of corn, I put 1 can of corn and 1 can of black seasoned beans in. I also used the yellow seasoned rice and used more water. If you like it hot a Jalapeno pepper would give it a good kick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Made this past week. I used brown rice instead of white, one can of water like other reviews said, but it must have been because I used brown rice, it was a little too watery. I think next time I will spice it up more with black beans, green chilies or something as the rice had good flavor but the chicken needed more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Loved this easy and flavorful dish! I even forgot to add the cheese on the top at the end, but it still tasted amazing! Added green chilies for a little extra kick. I think the 45 minutes is probably enough time to fully cook the chicken breasts (unless they are large)... My chicken was a little dry after the 55 minutes suggested by others. I also may try soaking the rice beforehand next time. Mine was a tiny bit undercooked, but that was probably due to the fact that I increased the entire recipe and didn't put enough extra water in or something. Will definitely be making this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
FIVE STARS!!! This was fantastic! VERY creamy and flavorful without being spicy (for those who can't handle much spice). I also used the cream of chicken can to measure the water. Forgot to add the paprika but it didn't matter... it was FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Amazing and ! After reading other reviews I added a box of Zatarain's New Orleans Style Red Beans and Rice in place of 3/4 cup long-grain rice. I also went with the can of water in place of the 1/2 cup and baked for 55 min rather than 45. This casserole had SOOOO much flaver! next time I am going to top it with a liltte green chile sauce!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicolle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
This was a SUPER easy dinner and had really great flavors. I topped with sourcream and garnished with lettuce. The only problem I had was with my rice. It didn't cook all the way because it needed more water. I'd recommend filling the soup can with water, versus the 1/2 cup. Also, I really like how you could add whatever you wanted (olives, jalapenos, beans, etc) to make it a little different each time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLB811

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States