Tex-Mex Chicken and Rice Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
My family (husband and kids 2, 4, and 12) really like this with my changes: Cooked cubed chicken breast in a pkg of taco seasoning (in pan with oil). Then added it to the pan with other ingredients (after adding the can of water to the pan to get all the seasoning from the pan).Used 1 can of water instead of 1/2 c. Also, added 2 cloves of raw garlic, & almost 2 c. of rice. Due to extra rice I added 1 can condensed ckn broth and 1 can water. Only added 1/2 c. of salsa due to taco seasoning and fear it would be too spicy for the kids. It was still a little spicy with taco seasoning (and I'm not afraid of spice, but my kids are picky about it) Waited till end to add cheese. I actually thought it was better BEFORE I added the cheese. In the future I will just top it with cheese when served. sorry, not sure if its fair to rate this with the change of using taco seasoning, but just wanted to give changes/info to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
My family & a friend enjoyed it! I supplemented the chicken breast with wings & thighs. They said the thighs and wings tasted better and was more moist than the breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I made this recipe for my family, and they absolutely loved it. My husband and son said it was a "keeper!" I didn't change a thing but adding additional 1/4 cup water to it. I thought it was very tastey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
WOW - this was one of the EASIEST recipes ever!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
If you need an easy tasty dinner for the family, this is your meal. However, we felt it needed more kick for just adults. I had to leave it in the oven another 15-20 minutes as the rice was still crunchy after 45.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Kristine
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
This recipe is EXCELLENT! (with my mods of course!) To give it more flavor and color here is what I did: I used 6 breasts since I was cooking for 5 people. I cut them into strips, and then halves, and cooked them in a skillet with chicken taco seasoning. For my rice mixture I used mild rotel instead of salsa, a soup can of water, almost a whole can of corn, 1 cup of rice, and one can of black beans. Topped it with my chicken peices and then covered the entire thing with a thin layer of chedder cheese. Baked for 45 minutes, and for the last 5-10 minutes I scattered sliced black olives on top. Served with a dallop of sour cream on the side and it was AMAZING! I had 0 leftovers and eveyone raved about it. We will be making this again for years to come. Next time I might mix the cheese with sour cream and some chopped jalapenos to spread on the top for extra flavor. SO GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colusa, California, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
We tried this recipe last night and really liked it. It's very tasty! I didn't change a thing. However, after 45 minutes in the oven at 375 degrees, the chicken was NOT fully cooked so we had to put it back in. Next time I will bake it for at least 1 hour at 400-425 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
awesome..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
This was just ok, I don't think I'd make it again as directed, it was pretty blah on taste and we had to add plenty of salt to make it edible. I think adding some spices before cooking would help significantly bolster the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Loved it!! I added 1 package of taco sesoning mix instead of the just the paprika and 1 can of Rotel instead of salsa. Gave it more flavor. For EASY chicken I used Tyson pre-cooked diced chicken. Also great with either chili, pinto or black beans. Very versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikander409

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States