Tex-Mex Chicken and Rice Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
This was incredibly easy and SO good! I added a can of drained/rinsed black beans, used quick cooking rice, and added a little more water. I can't wait to make this again. I'm happy to have found a quick-assembly weeknight recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zionsville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hanny Manny
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I didn't have chicken breasts thawed so I used a can of chicken instead. I also added a can of black beans and extra corn. Ended up cooking it for one hour because the rice wasn't quite done at 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
AWESOME and EASY! I added a can of no salt black beans and because some reviewers noted it was bland I added generous sprinkles of smoked chipotle to the top of the chicken with the paprika. I also filled the can of cream of chicken with water to add a bit more liquid. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Quick, easy, and delicious. Not too mention it looks extremely appetizing. I followed what other reviewers said and added a full can of water instead of the 1/2 can the recipe suggested. Simply delicious. With all the household ingredients on hand, and such an easy recipes it gets 5 stars, and is definitely a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
This is a quick and easy recipe took all of 10 minutes to throw it together and stick it in the oven. It was very good as is. I made it again and needed to double it so I changed it to do that. I added one cream of chicken soup and one can of cheddar cheese soup. Instead of 2 cups of corn, I put 1 can of corn and 1 can of black seasoned beans in. I also used the yellow seasoned rice and used more water. If you like it hot a Jalapeno pepper would give it a good kick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Made this past week. I used brown rice instead of white, one can of water like other reviews said, but it must have been because I used brown rice, it was a little too watery. I think next time I will spice it up more with black beans, green chilies or something as the rice had good flavor but the chicken needed more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Loved this easy and flavorful dish! I even forgot to add the cheese on the top at the end, but it still tasted amazing! Added green chilies for a little extra kick. I think the 45 minutes is probably enough time to fully cook the chicken breasts (unless they are large)... My chicken was a little dry after the 55 minutes suggested by others. I also may try soaking the rice beforehand next time. Mine was a tiny bit undercooked, but that was probably due to the fact that I increased the entire recipe and didn't put enough extra water in or something. Will definitely be making this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
FIVE STARS!!! This was fantastic! VERY creamy and flavorful without being spicy (for those who can't handle much spice). I also used the cream of chicken can to measure the water. Forgot to add the paprika but it didn't matter... it was FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Amazing and ! After reading other reviews I added a box of Zatarain's New Orleans Style Red Beans and Rice in place of 3/4 cup long-grain rice. I also went with the can of water in place of the 1/2 cup and baked for 55 min rather than 45. This casserole had SOOOO much flaver! next time I am going to top it with a liltte green chile sauce!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicolle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
This was a SUPER easy dinner and had really great flavors. I topped with sourcream and garnished with lettuce. The only problem I had was with my rice. It didn't cook all the way because it needed more water. I'd recommend filling the soup can with water, versus the 1/2 cup. Also, I really like how you could add whatever you wanted (olives, jalapenos, beans, etc) to make it a little different each time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLB811

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States