Terry's Texas Pinto Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Awesome recipe! Growing up, we always had a "beans and cornbread" night at our house. Now that I have a family of my own, I decided to continue the tradition. I never got the original recipe from my mom, but this recipe tastes exactly the same. Thank you very much! By the way, the BEST cornbread recipe I have found is Nicole Callen's, "Buttery Corn Bread" recipe, here on Allrecipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jungledrums

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Muscatine, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This was super yummy. I basically cooked it exactly as directed except I added chicken sausage at the beginning. It took way longer to cook though. More like 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Criscelda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This was amazing. I soaked the beans (4 cups dry) 2lbs overnight rinsed them and then soaked them for another 5 hours. Rinsed again and made recipe as stated (doubled of course) except I didnt have a jalapeno pepper, so I just doubled the green salsa. This was amazing will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Newton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Sorry, I am a bean lover, but I did not care for these much at all. I soaked the beans for about 8 hours, but even with cooking them for quite a long time, they just weren't as tender as I like them. The flavor was definitely lacking. Finally, after eating several less than appealing bowls, I put them in the blender, added a bunch of jalapenos and some salt, and made some great refried beans out of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
quick and easy beans. Put them in the crock pot. I am from south Texas and missed the depth of flavor the bacon adds to a pot of beans. Will do again but with a couple of pieces of bacon. Used left overs to make an AWESOME bean dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Awesome! I added a serano pepper I had and used canned plain beans as I was short on time- wonderful flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer8

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I haven't tried this yet but I hope to, soon. Two questions: what is the size of a serving--not "1/8th of a recipe," but how many ounces or cups? I can't translate a "pound of beans" into cooked cups. Second, could I substitute mayocopa beans? I'm looking for recipes for this strange cross between pinto & kidney beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Good stuff! I omitted the jalapeno pepper and used a Serrano pepper which I quartered and simmered with the beans. Remove Serrano pepper before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
My beans turned out a little bland but I am certain that it was because I added too much water. I used a can of Rotel diced tomatoes with green chilis instead of the green salsa and a slice of turkey bacon. I also used garlic powder, onion powder & flakes, chili powder, & black pepper. I soaked the beans for about 10 hours before cooking them (draining & rinsing twice). I cooked them on the stove for 7 hours. I will definitely try this recipe again but will be sure to reduce the amount of water I add. For those whose beans were still a little crunchy after cooking -- make sure to soak them for several hours and drain the water once or twice. Also beans have a shelf life so if they have been in your pantry/cabinet for over a year then it's highly possible that they will not turn out right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Awesome! We loved this recipe! I put this in the crockpot before leaving for work. I'll double the liquid when I make it next time. I also put a piece of pork in with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lbiggart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States