Terry's Texas Pinto Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by World_Diplomat03
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I've made this recipe MANY times. I followed the recipe as written. It's great! I like my food spicy, so I use 3 jalapenos! Garnish with some cilantro on top ;) It's good. By the way, you should try pork skins with these beans. Just use the pork skins as "tortilla chips" by scooping up some beans. It tastes so good. The whole combo is absolutely delicious. Try it out at least once :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by World_Diplomat03
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
These were just ok for my family. Being from central texas, I always love trying Texas recipes. I followed all directions, no changes, and these were pretty bland. Recipe looks fool proof. I love all the ingredients. I will use this as a base next time, and play around with it more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Awesome recipe! Growing up, we always had a "beans and cornbread" night at our house. Now that I have a family of my own, I decided to continue the tradition. I never got the original recipe from my mom, but this recipe tastes exactly the same. Thank you very much! By the way, the BEST cornbread recipe I have found is Nicole Callen's, "Buttery Corn Bread" recipe, here on Allrecipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jungledrums

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Muscatine, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This was super yummy. I basically cooked it exactly as directed except I added chicken sausage at the beginning. It took way longer to cook though. More like 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Criscelda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This was amazing. I soaked the beans (4 cups dry) 2lbs overnight rinsed them and then soaked them for another 5 hours. Rinsed again and made recipe as stated (doubled of course) except I didnt have a jalapeno pepper, so I just doubled the green salsa. This was amazing will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Newton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Sorry, I am a bean lover, but I did not care for these much at all. I soaked the beans for about 8 hours, but even with cooking them for quite a long time, they just weren't as tender as I like them. The flavor was definitely lacking. Finally, after eating several less than appealing bowls, I put them in the blender, added a bunch of jalapenos and some salt, and made some great refried beans out of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
quick and easy beans. Put them in the crock pot. I am from south Texas and missed the depth of flavor the bacon adds to a pot of beans. Will do again but with a couple of pieces of bacon. Used left overs to make an AWESOME bean dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Awesome! I added a serano pepper I had and used canned plain beans as I was short on time- wonderful flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer8

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I haven't tried this yet but I hope to, soon. Two questions: what is the size of a serving--not "1/8th of a recipe," but how many ounces or cups? I can't translate a "pound of beans" into cooked cups. Second, could I substitute mayocopa beans? I'm looking for recipes for this strange cross between pinto & kidney beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Good stuff! I omitted the jalapeno pepper and used a Serrano pepper which I quartered and simmered with the beans. Remove Serrano pepper before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef, these ain’t your typical baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States