Terry's Texas Pinto Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
So, so good. This was only the second time I've made beans. Super easy and the family loved them. I did add 3 or 4 diced chipotle peppers in adobo while it cooked and a handful of chopped cilantro at the very end!! Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This is my new favorite bean recipe. Simple and delicious! Because I don't like spicy food, I always leave out the jalapeño pepper. The first time I made it, I substituted regular salsa, but have also made it with the green (preferred the red). I have tried both bouillon and canned chicken broth (preferred the bouillon). Cumin is a new spice to me, so I cut it in half. First time I made it, I had left over dark chicken in the fridge from a store-bought roasted chicken. Added it to the beans and was blown away! Tasted like a mild chicken chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graham, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Don't mess with Texas!!!! Pinto Beans, that is! This is our new favorite recipe!!! I couldn't imagine such a fabulous taste. We used the can of chopped chiles instead of jalapeños and green salsa was just right, thanks again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
If I had known making beans was so easy and could be so delicious I would have made these a long time ago! We all loved them. I soaked the beans over night but otherwise followed recipe exactly. So, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Took a pot of beans to a 40th birthday party. Everyone wanted to know the recipe. I added a handful of ham to the pot of beans. Also, I used 3 cups of dried beans, because I don't know what a pound of beans measures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
These are really really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
These Pinto Beans turned out very good. I had to change it up by using items I had on hand. I soaked my beans overnight and I oven roasted the Jalapeno pepper before chopping. Used Beef Broth. I did not have Chicken Broth, the green salsa or cumin so I used 3 Tablespoons of Fiesta brand Pinto Bean Seasoning and also added some Smithfield smoked Pork Jowl Bacon. Served as a side along with grilled chicken and fresh baked corn bread. Yum! My wife even liked them and she usually does not eat beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meridian, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
best pinto beans i've ever had. LOVE this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
These are really tasty. I used red salsa and I added salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
The recipe is certainly a home run as shown. I followed a previous reviewer's crockpot method. I also veganized the recipe substituting low-sodium vegetable broth for the chicken broth, and -- just to simplify -- substituted about 5 pureed tomatillos for the green salsa. Oh, and added some chipotles for heat. An absolute keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States