Terry's Texas Pinto Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
These are really tasty. I used red salsa and I added salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
The recipe is certainly a home run as shown. I followed a previous reviewer's crockpot method. I also veganized the recipe substituting low-sodium vegetable broth for the chicken broth, and -- just to simplify -- substituted about 5 pureed tomatillos for the green salsa. Oh, and added some chipotles for heat. An absolute keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Easiest bean recipe I've ever made. I followed it to the T. However knowing that I didn't soak over night, I brought the beans to a boil and reduced for 2 hours and reduced again to low for a 1/2 hour. They came out perfectly, they were very flavorful without adding any pork, which I particularly liked because I like to cook without adding additional fat if possible. I will soooo be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
These pintos were delicious tasting and had a nice kick! The only recommendation would be to soak the beans overnight and allow several more hours for cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Fantastic beans. I read a number of the reviews and followed Jessica's slow cooker method. Replaced jalapeno with serrano pepper. Added ham hock (watch for bones near bottom of pot). Everyone liked them. No leftovers. Best beans yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Great, but we did have to double the water and cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
This is fantastic! I've been sharing it (the recipe and the beans) to everyone who'll try it :). My husband and son are over the moon for these, which is surprising since my son is so picky about new foods. I've made it twice in 10 days, haha! It's almost gone already...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
This is a very good SIDE dish bean recipe. As one reviewer said, "it's good without the addition of any meat." I totally agree. I made it exactly as written with no changes. I did however soak the beans for about 2 hours first, then rinsed and proceeded. They were very good. I will most certainly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Absolutely wonderful recipe, a definite keeper. My personal changes: 1) did not use the jalapeno as I could not find fresh ones, 2) in place of chicken broth, I covered the beans with 1-inch of water and then added 4 packets of Goya Ham Seasoning Concentrate (or to taste), and 3) I cooked these in a crockpot on high for 5 hours, until beans were soft but were still mostly intact (on low plan for at least 8-10 hours). The ham concentrate with the green salsa really made the beans, though I would not hesitate to use chicken broth if unable to find the Goya product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stamps, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef, these ain’t your typical baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States