Terry's Texas Pinto Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
A reviewer warns against salting beans until the end of cooking. This is wrong. Even the soaking water should be salted. Scroll down to the relevant part of this excellent article
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Sorry to disagree with all the excellent reviews, but we thought these were only mediocre. I followed the recipe and didn't change anything. Next time I'd be more liberal with the spices, or try a different brand of green salsa to see if that makes the flavor pop any more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
these were amazing. I did cheat and used canned beans. I drained them, added the spices and simmered them for 1hr. Everyone loved them and commented on what great flavor they had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
These were delicious! I followed the recipe exactly, except I added a chunk of salt pork to the beans while they were cooking. I cooked it all in the slow cooker on high for 6....and they were great! Even better the next day after cooking for another 4. Would do these again.....exactly the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Oxnard, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Best beans I have made - this is my standby recipe for pinto beans with one minor but necessary change: I always add 3-4 slices of bacon and cook the beans with it. I remove the bacon after the beans are done and it seems to change the texture of the beans and adds a little smoky flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Much tastier than canned beans. I soaked beans overnight first, then rinsed and drained. Cooked at high for 4 hours, then low for 3. Very easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
I soaked my beans overnight and used vegetable broth instead of chicken, but otherwise followed the directions. They were wonderful and my house smelled great when they were cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
My all time fav Pinto Beans right here!!!! I really do not like Pintos so this is the only way I cook them now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Tucker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Fabulous!!! These beans are so good; I couldn't stop eating them! I will make this recipe again and again. I did soak my beans overnight, then put everything in the slow cooker on low for 8 hours. YUM! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Slowcooker for 8 hours...perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States