Terry's Texas Pinto Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
This recipe is awesome! I didn't have canned chicken broth, so I just reconstitued dry bullion cubes. I also substitued Pace picante sauce for the green salsa. It turned out great. Increasing the garlic doesn't hurt, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
Excellent! My husband loves really spicey so I added 2 Jalapenos and 3 cloves of garlic, plus a roasted garlic salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
Delish! I used Red salsa as well. Lil' more garlic & wal laaa.... Mix & throw all in crock pot. So easy & very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTJEN33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
Delicious! Forget chili this is better. Good thing I didn't add some cayenne pepper (I was tempted). Spicy! Great with basmati rice on the side. This one is definitely a keeper. Oh... by the way... I used red salsa as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
Excellent and easy. I added 2 sliced of diced, uncooked bacon and used chicken broth if I needed to add additional liquid as they cooked. I also used only half of a jalapeno pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
I used homemade red salsa I had and did not add the jalapeno or pepper. I prefer really spicy foods and would have liked to try the recipe the way it was intended but my husband wouldnt like me anymore. The beans had a very "healthy" taste to them and just enough kick to make them stand out from just a plain "old fashioned" recipe. The soup part of the recipe was very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
I loved it, my family loved it! Added cilantro before serving......a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Clark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford Lakes, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
I'm a new Texan, but these were delicious! I didn't have green salsa, so used red, and added a little cooked crumbled bacon, as my neighbor suggested. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
Really easy and delicious. Also used red salsa and some habenero peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
This is so easy! I added 3/4 teaspoon of salt, combined everything in the crock pot at about 9 AM and had a great, easy side dish by 6 PM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States