Terry's Texas Pinto Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Definately plan on making again. It was extremely salty, probably I used bouillion instead of the chicken broth, no salt needed that's for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dysart, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I love this recipe, it makes perfect pinto beans every time! I mix the finished product up with cooked rice, 4 cups of cheddar cheese and make bulk bean and rice burritos for the freezer. Perfect for an easy lunch, and the beans have just the right flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Very good beans! I used canned chopped jalapenos in lieu of fresh. I subbed "Rotel" type tomatoes and chiles in lieu of the green salsa. I put everything in the slow cooker and cooked on high for 6 hours. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
These were very good and easy to make. Definitely spicy though, wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
OK, but Mexican Bean recipe is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Great Flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
While I cannot rate this based on the cooking method of the beans I can rate on flavor. I used rinsed and drained canned pintos because I didn't trust the 2 hour cooking time for the beans. I invited neighbors for a spontaneous taco dinner and only had a few hours to prepare! I had everything else on hand...even the green salsa. So, of course the beans were tender but the dish lacked flavor. I let everything simmer for about 45 minutes and then sampled it. Dull, flat. After adding more of everything and some ancho chili powder, salt, more green salsa....and a spritz of fresh lime at the table, I was happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
I am a Texan and this is, without a doubt, the BEST ever!!! I grew up on beans and consider myself an expert, but this recipe is equiv. to our high end recipes here in Houston...i think the chick.broth made the difference; I used a red chunky black bean/corn salsa and a large ham hock......also added 5-6 pieces of crisp bacon with a dollup of b.grease...That's the lagniappe, cha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
YUM! I make this in the pressure cooker. Only needs 5 minutes at pressure using pre-soaked beans and the natural release method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Colchester, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
You cannot go wrong with this recipe! It's cheap, too ... I figured out that it's a little over $3 for me to make this, and it feeds our family of five dinner (with Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread and a salad), and there are usually enough leftover for my husband to take for lunch. The only changes I make are doubling the cumin and using vegetable (or "vegetarian chicken flavored") broth instead of chicken. This is a great, simple, CHEAP dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef, these ain’t your typical baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States