Terry's Texas Pinto Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
i followed the recipe to the letter...made a double batch and froze the rest. Absolutely wonderful! I have been eating beans all week, to the dismay of my family ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
These were delicious! I read over all the reviews and made some additions. I did everything that was in the original recipe; it was just enhanced. I rinsed and soaked the beans overnight. I added 2 pieces of turkey bacon and a little liquid smoke and chili powder. I did need to add some water during cooking. I added a can of Rotel tomatoes and chilis towards the end of cooking along with some cilantro. It tasted a lot like the chara beans I get at Tex/Mex restaurants that I love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I was looking for a pinto beans recipe without meat and this was a nice choice. Excellente flavor. I soaked the beans overnight and in the morning added all the ingredientes in the crockpot and let cook on low all day. I added around 3 tsp of liquid smoke for some flavor and it turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Loved the recipe! Thank you for sharing it. The only change I made was to add one can of roasted diced green chiles for a little extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
I made these in the crockpot. They were good, but they weren't nearly as spicy as I was expecting. I had to add a lot of cayenne, salt and pepper to get it the way I wanted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hope, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
OK flavor. Used red salsa vs green. Outcome could have been more flavorful. Will add more spices next time- Emeril has a great "southwest essence" seasoning recipe online- yummy but use only a little since spicy. Will make again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Absolutely wonderful. I used Pace Picante sauce & added a bit of fresh cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I am making a huge pot of beans for a family bbq today as I type this review out. Two things this recipe fails to mention is...1 - make sure your beans are not outdated (yes beans do go stale). And 2 - beans need to be soaked (overnight preferably and depending on the bean) in order to rehydrate them. With both of those said, the older the bean, the longer it takes to cook, that is if it will cook up at all (regardless of soaking). And with soaking, not only does the bean rehydrate (resulting in a shorter cooking time..the 2hours as the recipe suggests for 1 lb of beans), but you also properly clean the beans of any debris and remove the indigestible complex sugars from the outer coating of the beans. End result - shorter cooking time and hardly any flatulence from the family (which I'm thankful for). As always, I usually modify a recipe depending on what ingredients it calls for and what I have on hand. I didn't have any pinto beans, so I am using 2 - 1 lb bags of Great Northern beans. I added 1 can of reduced sodium vegetable stock and 1 can of reduced sodium chicken stock. 2 cans of diced green chili. 1 can of rotel tomatoes/green chili. 1 whole onion (diced). 1 tbs of diced garlic. About 1.5 tsp of Mrs Dash. A pinch of salt. A few turns of the pepper grinder. And about 1 tsp of chili powder. Add water to cover. Check every so often for water evaporation. Add extra water as needed. Family loved these beans!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 79SHALE97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I had to add quite a bit of water to these and they took about 3 hours to cook. They were pretty tasteless when they were done, and I ended up adding more cumin and Mexican seasoning to them before serving. Thanks for the post, but I'll try something else next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I sought out this recipe b/c of it short cooking time. Lesson learned... no short cut for beans. I had to baby sit them b/c of the quick water evaporation. They ended up scorching and flavorless. Cannot find a reason to try to improve will stick with frijoles III from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oneandonly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States