Terry's Texas Pinto Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
A great healthier alternative to beans made with fattening bacon. Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I made this dish tonight and everyone likes it. I made it with some chicken stock and mostly beef broth like someone else did,everything else,just exactly. Like I said I was told it was good but I'm not a bean eater so you make it and judge for yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I don't care for beans, but my boyfriend loves them. So I decided to use my pinto beans I bought months ago. I never made them before so I thought I'd look up a recipe and I got a good idea on how to make mine with a little bit of alterations. I used a chicken bullion cube, onion, a jalapeno, cumin, salt, garlic powder, some creole seasoning, and a can of chipotle salsa. These are pretty spicy and good! I do love almost anything spicy =9
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikkie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iwakuni, Yamaguchi, Japan
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Nice, but for a more 'Texas' taste, use beef stock I use cubes including one in the soak water, brown sugar and add a little cilantro to the mix. Also, soaking your beans over night greatly improves your cooking time. I use a crock pot on high for two hours then 6 hours at low, works everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
My girls LOVE my beans and I decided to try something different, unfortunately they didn't want to touch these after they tasted them. It was an ok recipe, but just not fitting for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ravensdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Per some reviews, I added a couple slices of chopped bacon. I cooked these beans for a long time (at least 6 hours after they had soaked all night) and waited until the end to add the salsa verde. I tasted the beans prior to adding the salsa and thought they were DELICIOUS. After adding the salsa I didn't like them quite as much; personal taste I guess. But I will definately make these again without the salsa. Thanks for a tasty, easy, cheap recipe! You can't go wrong with a good ol' pot of beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Bake

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stockton, California, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2009
I have made this recipe twice, both times everybody loved them. I think the green sauce in combination with the chicken broth, does the trick. Thanks for a great recipe. UPDATE: Of course I have made these again, left out the jalapeno since I have a relative that "doesn't do hot stuff", and the beans still received raves from my guests. Thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcella Deer McKinney

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Odessa, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Excellent recipe for pinto beans. I like mine a tad hot so I used two jalapeno peppers. I also added one half of a green pepper just because I like them. I'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Excellent! Even my husband liked them sans meat. Pretty spicy with the jalapeno if you're a total gringo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Being a native Appalachian and a vegetarian (two things that don't generally go together), I wanted a recipe for pinto beans that didn't involve meat. By substituting no-chicken broth for the chicken broth in this recipe, I think I've found it. The biggest change I made, though, was throwing everything in the pot and letting it simmer all day. I would recommend using a Crock Pot or just simmering it on the stovetop for about 8 hours (and adding more water/broth as necessary). I added quite a bit more liquid, as where I grew up we liked "soup beans", but that's a matter of personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States