Terry's Texas Pinto Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
8 hours on low in the slow cooker and used about 4 cups of better than bullion broth And just fyi always soak beans overnight. As a general rule, with beans the longer they soak and/or cook, the less gas there'll be. And you know what I mean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Followed directions on package of beans but took longer than 2 hours. Let simmer in crock 4-5 hours the night before and then again all day for 8-9 hours more. They tasted fine, nothing to rave about though. We used them in "Chipotle" style burritos. My kids loved them like this, but just as a rice and beans dish would have been too bland for my family. Needed more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonja Grothe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Great recipe! I went the easy route and used canned pinto beans to reduce cooking time to about 25 minutes instead of two hours. I like my spices kicked up a bit so I went a little heavier on all of the seasonings and loved the result. I'd also recommend adding a couple shakes of salt. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonny's Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
These beans took over 24 hours to cook! By then, I had to add so much water they were quite flavorless. I'm giving it an extra star on the chance that I had defective beans, if there is such a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gina brown
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Oh sooo good...I will make these again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gina brown

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Adrian, Michigan, USA
Photo by Tamara
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
These beans rock!!! I didn't have jalapenos so I used green peppers and ground chipotle. I also added bacon like a few of the reviews recommended. This will be my go to reciepe for pinto beans from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Maine, USA
Living In: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
I've searched and searched for a basic, reliable bean recipe like my grandmother used to make and I finally found it here! I wasn't sure about the green salsa but had some on hand (not too hard to find in Texas) and decided to give this a shot. The green salsa is very subtle and you don't really notice it specifically, but it adds a depth of flavor that really works. I did add a few pieces of bacon which I thought added a nice little boost of flavor that I'll keep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Today is the 4th of July and I tried these beans. From now on, it'll become annual fireworks fare for us. Not that the beans are firecracker hot. They're just so good! To the pound of soaked-overnight beans, I added 32 ounces of water and 2 tsp. of Beef flavor Better Than Bouillon (comes in a jar) and 2 tsp. of Chicken flavor Better Than Bouillon. Also used extra cumin and garlic, an extra onion, and lots of freshly ground black pepper. The beans were perfect after 5 or 6 hours in the crockpot. At the end of cooking time, I was going to add a can of diced tomatoes and chili powder, as suggested by other reviewers, along with the green salsa. But after one big taste of the beans, I couldn't take time out to finish those steps. The beans are absolutely delish, and no salt was necessary after adding the Bouillon. My husband and I had some for a mid-afternoon snack, and now I have more beans soaking for tomorrow. BTW, I did add 2-3 slices of bacon to the beans while cooking. 3 MONTHS LATER: I've made these beans so often now that I can do it in my sleep. As stated above, I've used bacon for flavor, but I now sometimes use meaty hamhocks. When I couldn't find hamhocks, I had the butcher cut up a nice ham so that I could use the bone and big chunks of ham. I do add tomato sometimes -- good with or without. I could live on these beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Very flavorful and yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I followed this recipe to a tee after soaking over night. The only thing I did different was remove the seeds from the jalapeno. They were very good and took about 2 1/2 hours to cook. I probably added about 2-3 cups of water during the cooking time. Next time I'm going to add the whole 7oz can of green salsa and leave the seeds in the pepper and try them in the slow cooker. They were not as spicy as I thought they would be. My 11 year old granddaughter loved them. We served them over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States