Terry's Texas Pinto Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Great starter recipe. I stuck to the recipe, however, I added green pepper and red salsa. I also added cooked rice. This recipe it easy to tweak to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laureenaonline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Absolutely delicious! Next time I'm going to add a smoked turkey wing and I'll bet they'll be even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Good flavor, but fell short of my expectations. I did find it sloppy looking with the bean skin goop - I am going to presoak the beans and remove that unattractive goo, maybe it will be more visually appealing. But - like all my reviews, goop or no goop this is KID APPROVED
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by graphxlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chino, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Easy but very good recipe. I followed soaking directions on bean package before starting, then put all in the crockpot on high and cooked all day. I added a few extra cloves of garllic and used two jalapenos instead of 1 and about 1 cup of the green salsa. I served over rice one night and also have been eating them as is. They are even better the next day. This recipe is definitely a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
These were the best beans I have ever had. I grew up in the Chicago Region and we had beans and corn bread often, but used Great Northern beans. This is the first time I used pintos and will not go back to Great Northerns. As an added bonus, I am diabetic and my sugars were actually on the low side of normal the following morning after eating 2 bowls of beans and corn bread. Maybe I have discovered a new treatment for diabetes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frank Barnett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
A good, solid bean dish. Not spectacular but easy to make, good taste and better for you than a lot of fat laden side dishes. If your main dish is going to be the focus, this might be the perfect dish to accompany it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
These are very good! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Very Tasty! Nicely seasoned. The beans need to cook much longer than 2 hours, I just let them simmer and added extra water as needed but otherwise a great base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Unlike most of those on this site, I am a TERRIBLE cook! However, I followed this recipe exactly, but used a crock pot (also a lazy cook;) and I can't beleive it, but these taste great! Spicy enough, good consistency, and easy to make. IF I CAN MAKE THESE TASTE GREAT, YOURS WILL BE FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
We love this recipe! My mother was from Texas so I know good pintos. I didn't have any fresh jalapenos so I used canned. I happened to have some ham so I added a little of that as well. I didn't pre-soak, cooked them for about an hour on the stove top and because I had to leave, I finished them off in the slow cooker on high and added a little water when I got home. They are definitely spicy but not overwhelmingly so. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: La Quinta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States