Terry's Texas Pinto Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
These are really good. Serve with regular or mexican cornbread. These are my husbands favorite beans that I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsByrd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I enjoyed these beans...I added four smoked ham hocks to the pot for flavor and the teeny bit of meat that they lend. I also added chili powder and cumin to enhance the smokieness. Add this reduced and beans cooked the sauce was wonder and rich. I did soak my pintos overnight! Thanks for a yummy recipe to serve with cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I really enjoyed these beans, but I doubled the recipe and they started to dry out really quick, so I added a can of red enchilada sauce and a can of diced green chilis. I also used a can of pace instead of the green salsa.. My husband loved them. They were too spicy for the kids. I loved them. My picky extended family hardly touched them so we had nearly two pounds of beans left after our family night. Doesn't hurt my feelings though, they hardly eat anything. I like that this is different and delicious. I will make them again (on a much smaller scale).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
The recipe as is tastes great, but I like adding some cooked, shredded boneless chicken breasts so it ends up like a white chili. I soak the beans overnight and add pickled jalapenos (along with a few tbsp of the juice) and cook otherwise as is in a crockpot on low all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jbcrowder

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rogersville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Not being from the south I normally hate pintos but after making these I absolutely love them. These are the best beans EVER! I use whatever broth I have on hand, chicken or beef and sometimes I use buillon. I've used red salsa.With or without jalepeno. Its just great. Soak the beans overnight and throw it all inthe crockpot in the morning. Let it cook all day. Great no fuss dinner and the house smells amazing while they are cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I absolutely love this recipe. I make it often. The cumin and jalapenos really make the flavor delicious. I never have green salsa, so I just use red. This recipe is not picky about measurements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Great starter recipe. I stuck to the recipe, however, I added green pepper and red salsa. I also added cooked rice. This recipe it easy to tweak to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laureenaonline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Absolutely delicious! Next time I'm going to add a smoked turkey wing and I'll bet they'll be even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Good flavor, but fell short of my expectations. I did find it sloppy looking with the bean skin goop - I am going to presoak the beans and remove that unattractive goo, maybe it will be more visually appealing. But - like all my reviews, goop or no goop this is KID APPROVED
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by graphxlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chino, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Easy but very good recipe. I followed soaking directions on bean package before starting, then put all in the crockpot on high and cooked all day. I added a few extra cloves of garllic and used two jalapenos instead of 1 and about 1 cup of the green salsa. I served over rice one night and also have been eating them as is. They are even better the next day. This recipe is definitely a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States