Terry's Texas Pinto Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
These taste amazing! Two hours using dry beans didn't work for me though. I soaked them overnight first. I also tried gently boiling them on the stovetop for 30 minutes then throwing them in the slow cooker on high for several hours and they turned out awesome too. I'm in Texas but from the north, so I was clueless about pinto beans! But I served this recipe at a party and everyone loved it! Whew...saved the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
This is a delicious recipe, so much so that I'm writing this short review to give it five stars for simplicity, taste, convenience and healthiness. I didn't have chicken broth so I used dried bullion in water and din't have the salsa to add and it came out fantastic! I'm making it again for the 4th of July to have with BBQ stuff. I highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Pretty good! Considering I am the only one who cares for beans in my family, I am excluding my hubby's opinion from my review. While I thought these were tasty, the cook time was a bit off for me. I even soaked my (fresh, brand new) beans overnight - not only to ensure they'd cook in the suggested 2 hour time frame, but also to clean them of any debris and remove any indigestible sugars that contribute to flatulence. I ended up cooking my beans for almost 2 /12 - 3 hours. I had to constantly juggle the heat setting on my stove because my beans were barely simmering on medium-low but bubbling away on medium. I was concerned that all of the liquid would quickly evaporate, even tho I was checking the pot every 10 minutes (and I had to add almost 2 cups water at that). Since I didn't want to be chained to the stove all afternoon, I guess the extra hour had to be the compromise. Cooking hiccup aside, these were mighty tasty and complemented my Tex-Mex pulled pork sandwich nicely. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Terry! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
For everyone complaining about gas.... add a can of coke at the very end. My mom has always does this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I've lived in Texas and now in Seattle. No matter what or where you are this is a DELICIOUS and very healthy dish. We actually just ate it with some toast with cheese on top (we call it cheesy toast) and some green salad. Yummy! It really was like a meal in itself. It is affordable if you are trying to make your budget stretch. I always soak my beans over night, and if you want to avoid the gas that beans can cause, while soaking add 1 to 2 Tablespoons of baking soda. Then rinse beans before hand cook. My 1 pound of beans was done in about 40 minutes. Just a thought. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mindyminer28

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grantsville, Utah, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I love these beans this is the only recipe I use now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
This is an excellent dish. I added ground turkey and BBQ sauce. I serve it with millet which makes it thicker. It is a really great hearty stew and this is my second time making it. We all give it thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Student

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Omg good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Great starter recipe. For our tastes it needed much more seasoning like chili powder, oregano and paprika for a true Mexican flare. Let's face it, Texans also like meat in their pintos so I added 3 fat slices of peppered bacon. I started the beans in my crockpot on high for 4 hours, the beans still weren't done. So, I boiled them in my dutch oven for an hour until tender, adding water as I went. I served them in a bowl topped with fresh onion, cilantro, jalapeno and crumbled spicy, chipotle cheese. My husband smoked a pork loin so we ate the beans charro style with street style, pork tacos! Delish! I can't wait for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Thank you, Fooddude! These beans aren't much to look at, but they are delicious! I used "no-chicken" broth to keep them vegetarian/vegan. I added more cumin because I love it and added more tomatillo salsa, because there's no such thing as too much :) Soaked my beans overnight and cooked for 2+ hours. So, so hearty and yummy. I burned my tongue because I couldn't stop "sampling" them from the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States