Terry's Texas Pinto Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Omg good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Great starter recipe. For our tastes it needed much more seasoning like chili powder, oregano and paprika for a true Mexican flare. Let's face it, Texans also like meat in their pintos so I added 3 fat slices of peppered bacon. I started the beans in my crockpot on high for 4 hours, the beans still weren't done. So, I boiled them in my dutch oven for an hour until tender, adding water as I went. I served them in a bowl topped with fresh onion, cilantro, jalapeno and crumbled spicy, chipotle cheese. My husband smoked a pork loin so we ate the beans charro style with street style, pork tacos! Delish! I can't wait for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Thank you, Fooddude! These beans aren't much to look at, but they are delicious! I used "no-chicken" broth to keep them vegetarian/vegan. I added more cumin because I love it and added more tomatillo salsa, because there's no such thing as too much :) Soaked my beans overnight and cooked for 2+ hours. So, so hearty and yummy. I burned my tongue because I couldn't stop "sampling" them from the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This recipe was pretty good added about 1/2 tsp of kosher salt and that hit the spot, also I soaked my beans overnight and only cooked for 1 hour. Really good beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rancho Palos Verdes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Good bean recipe, takes more than two hours to cook dry beans,and if you want some Texas taste add 2 tbls chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I make these beans at least twice a month and my family loves them. Today I made them and added some chopped brisket, absolutely fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
after searching for pinto recipes with items I already had at home I found this recipe and absolutely loved it.. tons of flavor!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beaumont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I had to cook the beans for an extra hour, but they were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
LUV IT!!!!!!! d:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I thought it was a little weird to eat beans in the water that they had been boiled/softened in, because I usually drain and rinse mine a couple of times when starting from dry. So I used my previously boiled and rinsed pinto beans for this recipe, doubled the chicken broth, and used a can of Mexican style tomatoes with chilis, boiling the whole for 45 minutes since my beans were already cooked. We ate this over rice, sprinkled some shredded cheddar on top and loooooved it!!!! I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef, these ain’t your typical baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States