Terrific Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
This was really good. We don't care for zuchini, so we substituted a can of kidney and a can of pinto beans. I used my own taco seasoning (from this website) and use anch chili powder (next time I will use regular chili powder). We squeezed 1/4 of a juicy lime in each bowl and topped with fresh cilantro (we did not add the corriander), sour cream and shredded sharp cheddar cheese. The lime and other toppings really made the dish. It may have been a bit light on flavor otherwise. Also it was good the first day; but, it was way better the second day. If you are making this to take somewhere or for company make it the day before. It is worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Yummy....so much better than chili packs in the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seymour, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I made this chili for a 4th of July Potluck (a week ago). OMG it was amazing and everyone including the kids loved it. I have already been asked to prepare it again this weekend. For the most part I stayed true to the recipe. I did double the recipe and add two cans kidney beans, one can garbanzo beans and a can of black beans. I also added more beef broth to loosen it up a bit. It was incredible!!! If your not a turkey lover I encourage you to try it with turkey before you use ground beef because the flavor is so rich that you cant even tell that it is made with turkey. Top with shredded cheddar cheese and enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
What a different recipe! Fantastic flavor and texture. But even better when refrigerated overnight. I substituted a small can of corn, a small can of red kidney beans, and a large can of white cannellini beans, I left out the coriander and chili pepper flakes. Also put two tablespoons of granulated sugar into the broth to develop the flavors. The taco seasoning packet carries the dish very nicely. Mild bite as far as the heat goes, perfect balance. Can't say enough about this chili. Best way to utilize ground turkey as a lean meal instead of the traditional beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Best homemade chili with turkey, very nice alternative to beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Wonderful dish and easy to make! Especially for the kids after a long day in the pool. Served it with some warm cheese quesadillas and they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Best chili I've ever made. I omitted the green chilis as I couldn't find any in the store. I added the spices and tomato paste to the meat at the early stage of browning as the recipe was unclear if spices went in before, during, or after browning. It made the meat really finely crumbled and delicious. I also added two cans of rinsed and drained beans at the final stage with the zucchini. I used sodium reduced taco seasoning and broth to shave out some salt, and make the dish even healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Loved this recipe! Added a can of retried beans, red (instead of green) pepper, 2 lg. tomatoes ( for the salsa), left out the zucchini (only bc husband doesn't like), also added few shakes of chili powder, and cumin powder along with all the spices suggested. This recipe is a keeper. Added bit of shredded cheddar and dalop of sour cream. So GOOD! p.s. if I'd had canned beans on hand would have added those also. Really like the consistency that the retried beans gave to this dish. Quick to make also . ENJOY,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Tasted too much like spaghetti sauce until I added chili powder, cumin, garlic powder and kidney beans. Not sure I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Just barely edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 551) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Terrific Turkey Chili

Combining fresh and canned ingredients make creating this chili a snap.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States