Terrific Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I am not a chili fan, but I am in charge of my team's submission for a Chili Cook off at work. Made this recipe for our practice run. Changed a few things, but it was a big hit for us. I eliminated the bell peppers, zucchini and green onions. (I don't do those). Used chicken broth vs. beef broth and added a drained can of black beans. I used 1/2 butter, 1/2 olive oil and cooked the onions with a chopped garlic clove first, put those aside, then browned the meat in the same skillet. After the turkey was cooked with all said spices, I added the onion/garlic back, then added the rest of the ingredients. Put the mixture in the crock pot on high for 2.5-3 hrs. and served with cheddar, a spoon of sourcream and oyster crackers. It was the best and my family raved over it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I liked this as a base-line recipe. I used traditional chili seasoning instead of taco seasoning and used 2 packets instead of 1. I also added cheyenne pepper and kidney beans for a more traditional chili feel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I loved how easy it follow this was. I did, however, add ground beef and pork. I also added black beans to make it a little more hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
My husband and I love this chili. The only thing I added was a couple of cans of beans. Otherwise, the recipe is great as-is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I made this for a Super Bowl party and it was absolutely delicious. I did take suggestions from others and added a can each of kidney beans and black beans. I had a bottle of Goya Spicy Chipotle sauce - added a few good shakes - just enough to add some flavor without that overwhelming smokiness you sometimes get from Chipotle. Never thought of putting zucchini into chili, but it was incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Like most everyone, I modified this somewhat. I ixnayed the green chilis and chili pepper flakes. Subbed in its place a hot and spicy taco seasoning with chipotle and a tablespoon of Ancho chili powder.I added two cans of beans, one of black, one of kidney and added an additional of can of chopped tomatoes. The result is most decidedly delicious and I'll make this again. I should add, I also did not use the cheddar or sour cream. I've no doubt those would be awesome on this but why bother going to the expense of ground turkey if you're just going to deep 6 the health benefits? A good if somewhat odd base recipe but delightful nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raedwulf

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Okanagan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
We decided to make this as a family (myself, my husband and our 11 year old son). It was amazing! We loved it and will definitely be making this again! We decided to quarter the zucchini instead of cutting them in half. It worked out much better for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This was a great recipe and my family LOVED it. I too removed the zucchini but added beans and it was great. I will probably add more tomatoes next time but overall it was fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinesville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Absolutely delicious. I didn't have zucchini, but eggplant was a good substitute. To make it a little heartier, I added drained black beans (Goya black bean soup made with olive oil, onion an bell pepper). I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clifton Forge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
My husband is not a fan of beans, so when I found this recipe I figured I'd give it a try. I love chili but my favourite has always been my moms. Nothing tops it but I will say this comes close! And my husband (who isn't a fan of chili) absolutely loved it too! Just the right amount of kick for us. I don't like when "hot" takes over the entire taste, so this was great. I would say add more spice if u like ur chili spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 581) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Terrific Turkey Chili

Combining fresh and canned ingredients make creating this chili a snap.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States