Terrific Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Easton
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Amazing recipe. I will never go back to making chilli with beef again. Only made a few modifications for personal preference. Added celery, mushrooms, medley of beans and crushed garlic. Next time I will only use a half a teaspoon of chilli flakes because I found this to be on the brink of being too spicy. Since it was a little too spicy for my liking I added a few unsweetened chocolate chips to melt and neutralize the spice. Turned out perfect. My boyfriend said it was the best chilli he's ever had. Served it in a bread bowl with melted cheddar cheese, dollop of sour cream and green onions sprinkled on top. BOMB!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I added beans. That's it. It's delicious as is and I got rave reviews from a very picky chili loving boyfriend. I will make this again, and will not make any changes. I try to always stick to the recipe the first time I make it, then make changes. This recipe requires no changes. (except for the addition of beans)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KillerTomato

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Love this chili! Extremely easy and has great flavor! Made it for a party we had with a chili bar and everyone was asking for the recipe! Have already made it twice and will definitely make it again to freeze for the winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Haven't made this yet, but plan to for thanksgiving dinner (canada is tommorrow). i know eh? my son luvs tacos, and i'm not crazy about turkey anyway. so this should be a nice hearty warm meal cause it's cold outside! just making a note that i think the reason the beans were left out was to keep it LOWCARB. or maybe it's a regional preferance, texans don't normally use beans. either way, if you are lowcarbing it, omit the beans or use black soy ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Excellent, I added a can of drained pinto beans with the zucchini and substituted 1/4 tsp aleppo pepper flakes for the chili flakes to make it less spicy for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Chester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
When I saved this to my recipe box I didn't notice the multiple steps to sauté the vegetables. I decided to just throw all the veggies in with the turkey as it browned. It cut back on the oil saved me a few steps (and dishes). We enjoyed the flavor of the chili topped with sour cream and sharp cheddar. We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
We loved it! You would never know it was turkey! I added two cloves of garlic to the turkey mixture and another clove to the onion mixture. We didn't have zucchini and didn't want green pepper so I omitted both of those. I added some cilantro in place of the coriander seed and added a few dashes of Worcestershire sauce , a little red wine and a can of pinto beans to the simmering chili mixture. I also doubled the recipe. My husband loves chili and said this was by far the best he ever had, which shocked me, I mean it is turkey chili after all! Totally delicious! You must make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
This recipe is SO good! I made it for a group of friends last night and it was a huge hit!!! Everyone loved it and some even ate it with the "grandma's cornbread" mixed in! I did change some things... as other reviewers have mentioned, I thought it helped to add a full can of tomato paste and some garlic. I also love beans in chili and decided to add one can of each pinto and black beans which really helped thicken out the chili! In addition, I added a full can of corn, a couple carrots, did just one larger zucchini, and did one red and one yellow bell pepper instead of the green. I am sure you could customize this recipe a lot and it would be just as delicious! It just depends on your preferences. I think this was one of the best chilis I have ever had and would highly recommend trying it! It was great for the party too because I made it early in the afternoon and let it simmer until guests arrived... it had a chance to develop the flavors a little more and made the timing of feeding everyone a snap! Served it up with the "grandma's cornbread" recipe, and some cheddar cheese, sour cream, and sliced green onions. YUM!!! Will definitely be making this again! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
I'm not able to eat beans so this is the prefect recipe for me and also the first time I have cooked with ground turkey. In a slow cooker on auto shift I put the beef broth in and started to heat it up. Cooked the ground turkey with the spices suggested in 1 TBSP of oil. Set aside. With the other 1 TBSP oil sauteed the onions, 2 TBSP garlic, green bell pepper, and green chilies (med). Added black bean and corn med salsa. Heated a bit. Added turkey mixture and salsa mixture to slow cooker. Added 1-14 oz. can of whole kernel corn, drained and added diced chili tomatoes with 1/2 liquid. Added 1 tsp chili powder and a dash of salt. Cooked for 5 hours. The family loved it and want me to serve it again. Great way to use ground turkey. debmo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Yum!!! Used my own produce so green beans in place of zucchini, no cans, Ramen packet for beef broth! Great spice combo. Will make with veggie "crumbles' for vegetarians and seasonal/ put-up produce whenever made but the spice combo is PERFECT. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 551) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Terrific Turkey Chili

Combining fresh and canned ingredients make creating this chili a snap.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States