Terrific Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
This recipe was awesome!! I made several changes because i used what i had, but they all had seconds! Instead of taco seasonings, i used quesadilla seasonings. I didnt used zucchini but threw in black beans, kidney beans, and 1/2 can great northern beans. I added garlic salt, chili powder, and a bit of onion powder. I didnt have beef broth so used turkey broth. You have to use canned tomatoes so i had some diced canned tomatoes. I topped it with shredded colby jack and sour cream and it was amazing!! For those who need a heartier meal, cook some macaroni or other pasta and serve the chili on top!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
AMAZING !! I couldn't love it more. Great recipe to add your on twists too. I added a little bit on garlic and cumin to the oil before I added the turkey( that always adds depth of flavor) I used a 32 oz carton of beef broth and didn't have to add more water. I added navy beans. Also a diced fresh jalapanios after cutting the green chili in half. The longer it simmers the better it tastes !! Love what a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misswillco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Yum!! Made this recipe and loved it! I switched out the zucchini for eggplant (a relative of mine who joined for dinner cannot have them due to the oxalates) and loved it! I also used a can of fire roasted tomatoes in place of regular ones. It gives a great smoky flavor! A can of black beans and one of red kidney beans in it with a big batch of corn bread on the side. Mmmm....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Really good. I wanted to throw something in the Crockpot in the morning, so I started with this recipe. I omitted the bell pepper because I was lazy, used hot/spicy taco seasoning mix, added two drained cans of kidney beans, used vegetable broth instead of beef because that is what I had open, and omitted the tomato paste. I wish I had added the tomato paste to give the broth a little more tomato taste and thickness and will use it next time. I also did not brown the turkey first, as is usually advised for these kind of recipes. I think that may be why the final result looked a little strange, but it tasted great. A great flavor, some heat but not too spicy. It looks like a complicated recipe, because it has so many ingredients, but mostly it is just opening cans/jars and adding spices. If I make it in the Crockpot again, I will add the zucchini later. I added it at the beginning, with everything else, and it was overcooked. Otherwise, really solid recipe, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
loved this but I also added beans. very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Next time I will brown the meat lightly before adding the paste. Added Garbonzo beans and kidney beans as well as a can of corn, okra, and tomatoes. Turned out great! Loved the zucchini in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Marinette, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I used the crockpot after browning the turkey. Used less beef broth and no chili peppers, added beans as suggested and my son didn't know it was made from turkey. Having the cool sour cream on top really brought out the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This was excellent! I would give it 5 stars but my son (age 19) voted for 3, so I compromised. I added a can each of rinsed black & kidney beans. With Greek yogurt on top, it was amazing! Oh, I don't have coriander and my taco seasoning was homemade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Donald, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
This is wonderfully delicious!! I love the levels of flavor!! I make turkey chili often but none have ever tasted this good!! A KEEPER!! The onions add a wonderful crunch and do try with fritos. (-: I did add a tablespoon of chili powder and beans and both were a bonus. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Made this today didn't have any corriander and I used a red pepper instead it was delicious.my husband who Likes things spicy didn't even add any other hot sauce.it will be great to make in the summer for a large crowd and use zucchini and tomatoes from the garden
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 554) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Terrific Turkey Chili

Combining fresh and canned ingredients make creating this chili a snap.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States