Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
I modified it a little by adding 1/3 cup hoisin sauce instead of adding the 2/3 cup mirin. Absolutely yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I am an American so maybe thats why I was disappointed by this highly rated teriyaki sauce. I followed according to instructions and I would have to say this was extremely salty. Would probably make a real good recipy for curing and drying meat. I did use La Choy brand and I think I will go back to Kikkoman soy sauce. but that said I am going off of the idea that I wanted sticky sweet, spicey teriyaki..... think - Panda express, teriyaki stix type resteraunts. Probably more Hawaiin style I guess. I don't know but if that is what traditional japanese teriyaki is then I am sorry I am just not cultured enough. Thanks I will keep searching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I liked this recipe as a marinade for chicken. I followed the measurements, but went a bit scant on the soy sauce. To make it into a sauce, I boiled it down, added some honey, and then thickened it with a bit of cornstarch mixed with cold water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I didn't have sweet rice wine. I used 1/3 cup cooking sherry (now see it should have been 2/3). I used two spoonfuls of fresh minced garlic. I didn't have fresh ginger, I used 1 tsp ground ginger. It was very salty, but I toned down with honey (probably 1/2 a cup or so). But it tastes great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
OMG I just finished making this and it is the most amazing marinade!! The only ingredient I left out was the ginger. Definitely a 5+. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
This was exactly what I was looking for. Thank you so much for posting it. I don't think I will be able to go back to store bought Teriyaki.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
My husband flipped over this sauce! I used regular white wine instead of mirin and ommitted the red pepper flakes, but I doubt either of these substitutions made a difference in the final product. I cut up some chicken thighes, sauteed them, and then tossed them in the sauce - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Like others, we found this much too salty! I'm still working on cutting the salt by adding more sugar, honey, and water. Not satisfied yet, and I think it needs more ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This teriyaki sauce was so good! I didn't have rice wine so I used white wine instead and it came out great. I used this for a recipe for garlic teriyaki edimame and it came out awesome and then used the rest for dipping sauce for tempura shrimp. I will make this again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Excellent recipe! I didn't use fresh ginger because it can be a little overpowering. I used a ginger rice vinegar instead of regular rice vinegar for a little of the ginger flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Chef John's Chicken Teriyaki

Watch Chef John make authentic Japanese chicken teriyaki.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States