Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
This absolutely fantastic.... to BABYDANE, I don't know what went wrong when you made this, but I would have to say, try again. This is sooo GOOD. This is one of those recipies I keep handy because when I'm at a friends house & they don't have any teriyaki sauce, I love to say, "here, I'll make some" providing they have mirin on hand, they are blown away with the results. THANKS Celeste!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sassy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Excellent recipe. I used reduced sodium soy sauce. My husband and parents loved it. This is my go to recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
This sauce was excellent! I did not have any sesame oil, so I toasted 2 Tbs sesame seeds in some vegetable oil. Worked very well. The sauce had wonderful flavor. This sauce is much more like traditional teriyaki sauce than others I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
This sauce is wonderful! I used it for lettuce wraps - tossed chopped rotisserie chicken with diced water chestnuts and stuffed in lettuce leaves. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I've been eating teriyaki about 4-7 days a week since I came back from living in Japan a few years ago. I simply love teriyaki. This dish was a bit too salty for me so I altered it a tad--I added 1/3 cup of honey and 1/4 cup of sake. My normal recipe is equal parts honey/sake/mirin/soy but your recipe has so much flavor I'm going to have to do some more experimenting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
I made just as written (using Shoyu, an organic naturally brewed soy sauce) and it was so salty if knocked my socks off. I wonder if people are using different soy brands hence the varied reviews. I added 1/2 c. pineapple juice and 1/2 c. water and I'll use it, but I"m worried about cooking it down when stir frying. I'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
One of the best Teriyaki Sauces/ marinade ever. Full flavour and it's simple and basic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Excellent and easy! Kids loved it! Make sure you watch the mirin so it doesn't caramelize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Agree that it was a bit salty. But cut in a little honey, pinch of orange zest and a squeeze of fresh orange juice. And, man-Oh-man! Were those some tasty country ribs braised in it!! Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I found this recipe to be too salty. I halved the recipe when I made it. To the half recipe, I added 1tsp cornstarch dissolved in 1/4 cup water. I added the water cornstarch solution gradually when the sauce was boiling vigorously, and immediately turned the heat down after that. I also added an additional 1-2 tablespoons light brown sugar. The water did an OK job of taking care of the overwhelming saltiness, the cornstarch thickened the sauce nicely, and the brown sugar mellowed the flavor out a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

Chef John's Chicken Teriyaki

Watch Chef John make authentic Japanese chicken teriyaki.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States