Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Absolutely the best. Except it was a little bit too salty for me so I added a little water. I will use low sodium soy sauce next time but apart from that it was great! I didn't have mirin on hand so I used white wine and it came out so good. I sliced some chicken breasts and marinaded chicken in the sauce then cooked it, steamed some stir-fry veggies and mixed together. My husband & son just loved it! Thanks a bunch for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marleny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Really good! I needed a sauce for some wings so I tried this. I didn't have the wine, so I used half red and half white vermouth and increased the sugar a bit - wonderful!!!! Just thicken a little and toss with cooked wings - yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Stores great, and better than most store bought stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
This is a super marinade! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Really excellent. I used with a pork/mushroom stirfry and it came out very well, event though I was out of ginger and had to used powdered. This is going in my rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Hands down the best teriyaki sauce I have tasted. I have doubled it also with great results. I always thicken it with a tablespoon of arrowroot mixed with enough soy sauce to make it pourable, usually 1-2 teaspoons. Arrowroot is a thickener that can be found in the spice section. Arrowroot thickens and stays clear which is nice for this kind of sauce. I will never buy bottled teriyaki again. No need for all those artificial ingredients in the bottled stuff - this sauce is a snap to prepare and cost effective also. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILoveAardvarks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Sherman, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
The only change I did was to substitude the sugar with honey. I used it as a marinade for my Japanese barbeque, tastes great on the beef ribs, chicken, even fishballs! I even glaze some of them with eel sauce and they go well together. This is a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I used Splenda to make it healthier, and added more crushed red pepper for flavor. I marinated chicken and cooked with broccoli, water chestnuts, garlic, and a touch of ginger (and more red pepper of course). My boyfriend cleaned his plate and then the pan I cooked in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CIGALL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
This sauce really is the best teriyaki sauce/marinade recipe. It reminds me of the authentic Hawaiian teriyaki (and that stuff is great). CHANGES: I never use the rice wine and don't think that it is needed. Use 1/3 c. honey instead of sugar for a fuller flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Addison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
Would have given this a 5 easily, but in my opinion it needed the sugar increased to at least 2/3 cup. Very easy to make and the flavor is awesome!! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Chef John's Chicken Teriyaki

Watch Chef John make authentic Japanese chicken teriyaki.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States