Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
It was ok. I usd chicken which I marinated and cooked in the sauce with some broccoli. The only thing I changed was using inexpensive plum wine instead of mirin (since I couldn't find any and they both are relatively sweet) and I used less garlic since 7 seemed like way too much. It was very salty despite having used both low sodium Tamari and less of it. I had to add a lot more sugar to make it even edible. It tasted basically like slightly flavored soy sauce. I won't be making this again since it was hardly much better than the bottled kind. I'm quite disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meredith Mandel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
This is absolutely fantastic! I've made this so many times since discovering the recipe and used it for everything from a marinade for salmon to a dipping sauce to a spread for sandwiches. I thicken it with different amounts of cornstarch depending on what I'm using it for. For a glaze/marinade, I find two teaspoons of cornstarch plus enough water to dissolve it in is perfect, but I've even gone up to two tablespoons + water to make a really really thick sauce. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
This was a very good teriyaki sauce recipe. I did use low sodium soy sauce as the only kind I buy. The flavor was not too salty and it was easy to make. The only problem was finding the rice wine or Mirin. I would make this again definatly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fluffster67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I tried this recipe after all the great reviews, but I was really disappointed. I thought it was way too salty, ruining an entire batch of grilled chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Completely excellent! I made this exactly as written and used it for some chicken quarters that I had roasted plain and frozen. I thawed them in the marinade and reheated them in the oven, basting them with marinade. SO good! We also used some of this as a dipping sauce for thinly sliced dry-fried flat iron. My oldest son is a teriyaki lover and expert - and he called this the 'real deal.' Awesome! Thanks for the recipe! ♥
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I don't think I've ever rated a recipe one star, and I hate to go against all the 5 star reviews, but I have to say I really didn't like this! I didn't want to look up my usual recipe, so I thought I'd try this one, given all the great reviews. I thought it was soooo salty, (and I use low-sodium soy sauce.) I kept adding sugar to try and cut the saltiness. I've managed to salvage it that way, but I probably added close to 1 cup of sugar, and I don't think my kids are going to like this (though we'll give it a shot) I looked up my recipe, which is from a Japanese cookbook, and it's basically equal amounts of soy/mirin/sake(or not, there are variations), along with about half the amount of sugar. So, 2:2:1, soy, mirin and sugar. I always add garlic and black pepper, and sometimes the vinegar, usually not though. I also don't usually add the oil (though my recipe does call for a tiny amount) Anyway, I guess our tastes are for a sweeter, stickier teriyaki sauce, and this recipe just wasn't it. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
273 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYDANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Yeah baby! I added corn starch it was just delicious! If it would have been for a marinade, no need to add corn starch. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I used white vermouth and extra sugar since that is all I had. I did thicken it with some cornstarch. GREAT recipe..thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Excellent!!!!!!! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Probably the closest to restaurant Japanese teriyaki sauce that you can get! We cooked chicken in it and put it on top of rice and we absolute LOVED it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

Chef John's Chicken Teriyaki

Watch Chef John make authentic Japanese chicken teriyaki.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States