Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2015
Pretty snackey. However, next time I make it i plan on only putting in 2/3 cup soy as it was a bit too salty. I also like it with a little more heat. So I'll put in 1/2 t red pepper flakes. This really is a good recipe and it's now among my favorites. I will just adapt it to suit my own tastes. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: South Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
Very good basic recipe. I will be making this every time I need teriyaki sauce. I added more ginger than it called for and a bit more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watsonville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Great teriyaki sauce. After reading reviews, I adjusted the soy sauce to 1/3 cup. At that point, it was just salty enough. I also added 2 t. corn starch. In the future, I might decrease the sugar as well. But a great sauce. My husgand wanted to eat it on everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BILNSAM

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
This is the best teriyaki sauce I've ever made or bought. The only alteration I made was I used low sodium soy sauce. Next time i will try half low sodium, half regular soy sauce to taste the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
This is definitely the best Teriyaki sauce I've ever made. I added less soy sauce (low sodium, about half the amount called for) after reading reviews. Only giving 4 stars, considering with the full amount of soy sauce written, I believe it would be too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHBRASILE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
This is truly a five star. I chickened out and left out the red chillies but this is the best teriyaki I too have ever tasted. Thank you for sharing this recipe! All the best, Lori
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
This was Great AND Easy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
This was fantastic! I have used it as a marinade for drumsticks and also as a sauce on slabs of golden sauteed tofu. It is delicious!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Awesome!!! Compared it to a Teriyaki sauce from a well known soy sauce manufacturer and this recipe is MUCH better.Less salty and the ginger and garlic flavour is fantastic. For those who want a large amount and who are used to metric system: 400 ml Mirin 600 ml Soy sauce 200 ml Sugar 1 Whole head garlic 2.5 tbsp Ginger 4 tbsp Rice vinegar 2.5 tsp Sesame oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I tried a couple other 4.5 star teriyaki recipes on this site first, then this one. This one is best! I tried the others because this had mirin and rice vinegar, which I didn't have. But the flavor of this recipe was more savory, I think due to the sesame oil. This wasn't quite as sweet as some, and definitely not as tart, which we liked. I made it pretty much like the recipe, except I didn't have red pepper flakes, so I added a small pinch of cayenne. Marinated chicken thighs and legs 24 hrs in fridge in a ziploc bag (about 14-15 pieces worked). It wasn't too strong like this. Baked at 400 on cookie sheet, then took them out of grease and put them on a separate cookie sheet on a cookie cooling rack and baked convection at 400 for 20-25 minutes. They were perfect! Looked like they had been grilled outside. I took remaining marinade out of bag and boiled it, then added 1 T cornstarch in cold water and thickened it for 4-5 minutes. Made a great sauce to go over chicken pieces and white rice. The next night we had venison steaks seared in a skillet, and this reheated sauce was even better on that! Will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tullahoma, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Chef John's Chicken Teriyaki

Watch Chef John make authentic Japanese chicken teriyaki.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States