Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
This is truly a five star. I chickened out and left out the red chillies but this is the best teriyaki I too have ever tasted. Thank you for sharing this recipe! All the best, Lori
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
This was Great AND Easy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
This was fantastic! I have used it as a marinade for drumsticks and also as a sauce on slabs of golden sauteed tofu. It is delicious!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Awesome!!! Compared it to a Teriyaki sauce from a well known soy sauce manufacturer and this recipe is MUCH better.Less salty and the ginger and garlic flavour is fantastic. For those who want a large amount and who are used to metric system: 400 ml Mirin 600 ml Soy sauce 200 ml Sugar 1 Whole head garlic 2.5 tbsp Ginger 4 tbsp Rice vinegar 2.5 tsp Sesame oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I tried a couple other 4.5 star teriyaki recipes on this site first, then this one. This one is best! I tried the others because this had mirin and rice vinegar, which I didn't have. But the flavor of this recipe was more savory, I think due to the sesame oil. This wasn't quite as sweet as some, and definitely not as tart, which we liked. I made it pretty much like the recipe, except I didn't have red pepper flakes, so I added a small pinch of cayenne. Marinated chicken thighs and legs 24 hrs in fridge in a ziploc bag (about 14-15 pieces worked). It wasn't too strong like this. Baked at 400 on cookie sheet, then took them out of grease and put them on a separate cookie sheet on a cookie cooling rack and baked convection at 400 for 20-25 minutes. They were perfect! Looked like they had been grilled outside. I took remaining marinade out of bag and boiled it, then added 1 T cornstarch in cold water and thickened it for 4-5 minutes. Made a great sauce to go over chicken pieces and white rice. The next night we had venison steaks seared in a skillet, and this reheated sauce was even better on that! Will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tullahoma, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This is an excellent sauce/marinade I just made and can't wait to try it out. I would reduce the sugar a bit, for those who need to watch their sugar intake. Other wise, I give it a 5 star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by forhealth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Had my kids try it and they loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAUSSFAMILY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I just used this with wild turkey legs and thighs marinated over night. Then I rubbed them with my special smoking rub and slow smoked them at 150-160 degrees for about 6 hours. (I had pork ribs over them and dripping on them...) which may have changed the flavor a bit. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
This has been my go to recipe for teriyaki sauce and marinade, for two years. It's a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I had to add a lot of sugar and some water to try and tone down the saltiness. I used half of the sauce and mixes it with my homemade version of chicken lo mein. My husband and daughter loved it , but I still thought it was still a bit too salty. I don't think I'll be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Chef John's Chicken Teriyaki

Watch Chef John make authentic Japanese chicken teriyaki.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States