Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I am proud of myself for actually making an authentic sauce. This recipe is fantastic. I did add a bit of cornstarch and water mix to thicken but everything else was done exactly as written. My Boyfriend who is a teriyaki fanatic was so impressed by the flavour. I could eat it with a spoon, but it is going with some pork later today. I just had to review before I forgot! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel Teixeira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This is a great flavored recipe. I went with low-salt soy sauce since it was all I had on hand. I grated the fresh ginger, and crushed the garlic. When the cooking part was complete, I strained the solids to avoid the ginger, garlic and red pepper from over powering the sauce by sitting in it. Using it on a pork tenderloin. But the taste of it by itself is perfectly yummy. Would be a great dipping sauce for pot stickers with a little bit of green onion thrown in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I have made this a couple of times and it is the best teriyaki marinade I have found to date, easy to make and GREAT TASTE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mikesz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
This sauce has all of the great flavor of a good teriyaki sauce. If you have problems with salt add a little extra water to the sauce to cut down on the saltiness or you could cut back on the soy sauce. I used this recipe on 5 pounds of chicken thighs and leg quarters and it came out fine. I still have 1/3 of the sauce left over. I did marinade the chicken for 8 hours in it (refrigerated). Then fired up the smoker and cooked the chicken . I have been using teriyaki sauce for over 45 years and this rates right up there with mine. THANK YOU FOR SHAREING. Russ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
It had a very strong flavor and lots of sodium. I got rid of half of it and added a cup of water and more sugar, 2 tablespoons or so. It definitively tastes better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Great recipe! I went heavy on the garlic and ginger, the second time I made it. I also substituted about 2 tsp of honey for the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Great teriyaki. I couldn't find mirin, so I looked up a substitute. Heated 2 parts sake with one part white sugar and cooked until sugar dissolved. This sauce is very rich. I used it as a base for orange chicken and it was delicious. I will use the same base for sesame chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This sauce is so balanced and delicious! Salty, sweet, sour, spicy are all present! I did substitute a little squirt of sriracha for the red pepper flakes. When you combine the ingredients and simmer them, the first taste can seem a little salty, but not terribly so. I tossed some chicken breasts in a few tablespoons of this sauce, browned them, then simmered them in the rest of the sauce. I finished by removing the chicken and then thickening the teriyaki sauce with a cornstarch slurry. Between the additional liquid from the slurry and the chicken juices, the salt and other seasonings were perfectly distributed. It also took on a nice chicken flavor. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
As others have stated, I didn't like the recipe as is. Even after attempting again with LOTS more sugar, it was still pretty salty, but after about 20 minutes of reduction (where the recipe calls for 5), it had finally reached the taste and consistency I had been looking for. I marinated chicken in it, shredded it, and used it in a fried wonton. I thinned out the other half of the sauce with more mirin for dipping, and it was excellent. All in all it was good, but was no longer the original recipe by the time I adjusted it to my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristinpatton987

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Too salty the first time I made it. I cut the soy sauce by 1/3 and added 1/2 cup of pineapple juice. Raised the sugar to 1/2 cup, and Sesame oil to 2 tsp. It is very good with Mirin and as good with Marsala sherry. Used Sri Racha sauce for the kick. Chile oil used in some the other reviews, sound like a good idea as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Chef John's Chicken Teriyaki

Watch Chef John make authentic Japanese chicken teriyaki.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States