Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
This is truly a five star. I chickened out and left out the red chillies but this is the best teriyaki I too have ever tasted. Thank you for sharing this recipe! All the best, Lori
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
This was Great AND Easy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
This was fantastic! I have used it as a marinade for drumsticks and also as a sauce on slabs of golden sauteed tofu. It is delicious!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Awesome!!! Compared it to a Teriyaki sauce from a well known soy sauce manufacturer and this recipe is MUCH better.Less salty and the ginger and garlic flavour is fantastic. For those who want a large amount and who are used to metric system: 400 ml Mirin 600 ml Soy sauce 200 ml Sugar 1 Whole head garlic 2.5 tbsp Ginger 4 tbsp Rice vinegar 2.5 tsp Sesame oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I tried a couple other 4.5 star teriyaki recipes on this site first, then this one. This one is best! I tried the others because this had mirin and rice vinegar, which I didn't have. But the flavor of this recipe was more savory, I think due to the sesame oil. This wasn't quite as sweet as some, and definitely not as tart, which we liked. I made it pretty much like the recipe, except I didn't have red pepper flakes, so I added a small pinch of cayenne. Marinated chicken thighs and legs 24 hrs in fridge in a ziploc bag (about 14-15 pieces worked). It wasn't too strong like this. Baked at 400 on cookie sheet, then took them out of grease and put them on a separate cookie sheet on a cookie cooling rack and baked convection at 400 for 20-25 minutes. They were perfect! Looked like they had been grilled outside. I took remaining marinade out of bag and boiled it, then added 1 T cornstarch in cold water and thickened it for 4-5 minutes. Made a great sauce to go over chicken pieces and white rice. The next night we had venison steaks seared in a skillet, and this reheated sauce was even better on that! Will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tullahoma, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This is an excellent sauce/marinade I just made and can't wait to try it out. I would reduce the sugar a bit, for those who need to watch their sugar intake. Other wise, I give it a 5 star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by forhealth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Had my kids try it and they loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAUSSFAMILY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I just used this with wild turkey legs and thighs marinated over night. Then I rubbed them with my special smoking rub and slow smoked them at 150-160 degrees for about 6 hours. (I had pork ribs over them and dripping on them...) which may have changed the flavor a bit. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
This has been my go to recipe for teriyaki sauce and marinade, for two years. It's a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I had to add a lot of sugar and some water to try and tone down the saltiness. I used half of the sauce and mixes it with my homemade version of chicken lo mein. My husband and daughter loved it , but I still thought it was still a bit too salty. I don't think I'll be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Chef John's Chicken Teriyaki

Watch Chef John make authentic Japanese chicken teriyaki.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States