Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
Very good basic recipe. I will be making this every time I need teriyaki sauce. I added more ginger than it called for and a bit more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watsonville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Great teriyaki sauce. After reading reviews, I adjusted the soy sauce to 1/3 cup. At that point, it was just salty enough. I also added 2 t. corn starch. In the future, I might decrease the sugar as well. But a great sauce. My husgand wanted to eat it on everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BILNSAM

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
This is the best teriyaki sauce I've ever made or bought. The only alteration I made was I used low sodium soy sauce. Next time i will try half low sodium, half regular soy sauce to taste the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
This is definitely the best Teriyaki sauce I've ever made. I added less soy sauce (low sodium, about half the amount called for) after reading reviews. Only giving 4 stars, considering with the full amount of soy sauce written, I believe it would be too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHBRASILE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
This is truly a five star. I chickened out and left out the red chillies but this is the best teriyaki I too have ever tasted. Thank you for sharing this recipe! All the best, Lori
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
This was Great AND Easy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
This was fantastic! I have used it as a marinade for drumsticks and also as a sauce on slabs of golden sauteed tofu. It is delicious!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Awesome!!! Compared it to a Teriyaki sauce from a well known soy sauce manufacturer and this recipe is MUCH better.Less salty and the ginger and garlic flavour is fantastic. For those who want a large amount and who are used to metric system: 400 ml Mirin 600 ml Soy sauce 200 ml Sugar 1 Whole head garlic 2.5 tbsp Ginger 4 tbsp Rice vinegar 2.5 tsp Sesame oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I tried a couple other 4.5 star teriyaki recipes on this site first, then this one. This one is best! I tried the others because this had mirin and rice vinegar, which I didn't have. But the flavor of this recipe was more savory, I think due to the sesame oil. This wasn't quite as sweet as some, and definitely not as tart, which we liked. I made it pretty much like the recipe, except I didn't have red pepper flakes, so I added a small pinch of cayenne. Marinated chicken thighs and legs 24 hrs in fridge in a ziploc bag (about 14-15 pieces worked). It wasn't too strong like this. Baked at 400 on cookie sheet, then took them out of grease and put them on a separate cookie sheet on a cookie cooling rack and baked convection at 400 for 20-25 minutes. They were perfect! Looked like they had been grilled outside. I took remaining marinade out of bag and boiled it, then added 1 T cornstarch in cold water and thickened it for 4-5 minutes. Made a great sauce to go over chicken pieces and white rice. The next night we had venison steaks seared in a skillet, and this reheated sauce was even better on that! Will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tullahoma, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This is an excellent sauce/marinade I just made and can't wait to try it out. I would reduce the sugar a bit, for those who need to watch their sugar intake. Other wise, I give it a 5 star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by forhealth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Chef John's Chicken Teriyaki

Watch Chef John make authentic Japanese chicken teriyaki.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States