Teriyaki Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Great Recipe! What I really like about it is that you can easily alter it to suit your tastes. When I first made it I realized that like some other reviewers mentioned, something seemed not quite right. So, I added an additional 1-2 teaspoons of brown sugar and 2 tablespoons of rice vinegar. Perfect! After whisking all ingredients together I used 1/4 cup to marinade about a half pound of precut stir fry steak strips I bought in the store, and I plan to add a little cornstarch to the remaining and use it for the sauce in my stir-fry tonight. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Novi, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
I found this awesome recipe a few months back and finally had to rate it. I've made it over and over again. It's so easy to make since I always have all the ingredients on hand and it's delicious as well! I always have some in the fridge since we use it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMETHYSTAA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Taste just as if I bought a bottle of Teriyaki from the store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
This recipe is a good base, but I agree with some of the others that vinegar makes it even better. I prepared it as written, but then added 2 Tablespoons of vinegar once I tasted it. It just needed a tangy element.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
Love how easy and quick it is! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
I substituted vinegar and chicken broth for the sherry as other reviewers suggested and this turned out really well. Very tasty and moist chicken breasts from the grill! Will use this recipe again, but may use reduced salt soy sauce as it was a bit salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Very good! I cut the sugar in half and found it plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
This had very good flavor, but was way too salty - next time I will probably use at least 1/4 less soy, maybe 1/2 and supplement with veggie stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
i will def use this again!!!! my family loved it! i tried making teriyaki from scratch plenty of times with "HONTERI"- never eeven close to as good as this! the only change i made is i used kikkoman teriyaki marinade instead of soy sauce. its basically the same thing with some added ingredients "onion powder, garlic powder, spices"....un-freekin believable. i used thin cuts of tri-tip, and boneless chicken boob..barely marinated it for 30 minutes, and pan cooked it, when it cooked dry i added more marinade...SO GOOD!!! served with egg rolls and white rice- i def use it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Very good. I don't keep cooking sherry around, so I subbed 2 tbsp chicken broth and 2 tbsp rice wine vinegar (I think you could use any "sweet" vinegar). Very good as a marinade for chicken. We make this all the time - it's our "go to" meal (usually put on chicken) when we are craving Chinese type food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Chef John's Chicken Teriyaki

Watch Chef John make authentic Japanese chicken teriyaki.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States