Teriyaki Marinade with Ginger and Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
Great recipe. Two changes for me- I discovered that I didn't need both the Red Wine Vinegar & the White wine. Anything acidic will be a nice contrast to the honey. Fresh lemon juice or rice-wine vinegar are all good substitutes. *And if you don't have honey or you are allergic to it, you can substitute brown sugar which results in a deep, dark brown color. Thank you, R.T. for a great marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZ5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2004
Very nice teriyaki recipe. The only thing I would change next time would be to decrease the amount of ginger. I did not have red-wine vinegar and used regular white vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2001
This sauce is authentically "teriyaki" tasting. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
I decided to try this marinade, because I had all the ingredients on hand. It was really good. I marinated steaks in it all day and then barbequed them. The steaks were very juicy and flavourful. Will use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
A tasty, quick to throw together recipe. The only thing I did differently was substitute brown sugar for honey. I used it on beef, sliced up for stir fry. On the side I added some cornstarch to the marinade, cooked it, and added it to the stir fry beef and veg. The marinade was good with the beef, when thickened, made a good stir fry sauce. I like the Baked Teriyaki Chicken recipe from this site for chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2006
This was all right but a little bit more tangy and acidic tasting than I was hoping for. The teriyaki marinade III on this website tasted better to me. I also added a 1/4c of O.J. and a little more honey to decrease the tanginess. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
This marinade was GREAT!!! Everybody loved it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Very good and easy marinade. I did it for tofu, which I cut in big squares and then grilled. They were great! Next time I may shred the ginger to try and get more of the flavor out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lysandramarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
This was very good. I didn't use as much Ginger as the recipe called for because my family doesn't like a lot of Ginger. Great Marinade!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Very tasty...I made a few changes though: opt for 1 TBSP sherry cooking wine & 1 TBSP rice vinegar for the 1/4 C white wine vinegar, and use 3 TBSP brown sugar instead of 2 TBSP honey. I used this to marinade my beef for a stir-fry... DELICIOUS!! (Note: I used cayenne pepper as a substitution for red pepper flakes, and it worked just fine)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Garlic Marinated Steaks

See how to make a simple marinade for tender, flavorful grilled steaks.

Garlic Ginger Bok Choy

This super-quick sautéed vegetable is a great change of pace.

Fajita Marinade I

See how to make a 5-star marinade for fabulous steak fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States