Teriyaki Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2001
I changed the recipe to have a lot more ginger. One tablespoon of ground ginger. It smelled really strong but the ginger cooked off. Made an excellent marinade. Can't wait to try it again. -Chris
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2002
This is one of my basic marinades for all types of meat, poulty & even fish. I also use it to make teriyaki chicken wings which are a favorite at gatherings. I bake 2-3 pounds of wings seasoning them with salt, pepper & a little melted butter. Bake at 350 until done & brown. Then throw them into a crock pot on low with this marinade poured over them. Finger licking good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Wimberley, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
This has become my "go to" recipe for marinade. Easy to make with ingredients that I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This is so good, I have used it on chicken and beef. I even use it as a dipping sauce just thicken it with some cornstarch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIAMONDJOY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Very good marinade, good for last minute marinade if you dont have time to marinade overnight (which I prefer). I also marinaded some mushrooms for a few hours I think, but they were way too salty. A 1/2 hr probably would be better for mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IzzyBorden
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I've been so used to buying marinade in a bottle...but after making this, I will NEVER do so again. I doubled the measurements and took two packages of chicken breast. After washing the chicken, I sliced each piece into three long pieces. I then took a pan to the stove with a little bit of oil, lightly cooked both sides and added them to the marinade. This keeps the chicken moist. I prefer baking and did so for a half hour on convection. I added more ginger, as well as some extra/bigger pieces of onion. When putting the chicken into the trays for baking, I dropped in sliced carrots. It all came out amazing, I had more than enough sauce and I fully plan to make this a lot in the future! Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IzzyBorden
Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I exchanged the water for orange juice and dropped the sherry. I made the liquid equal parts and it was delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I used reduced sodium soy sauce and I used sliced green onion as the onion in this recipe. I also increased the garlic to what my husband calls a "crapton". I marinated my pork in this overnight, then cooked it this morning before it got hot and so I could have some before I went to work. I made Cold Sesame Noodles to go with it. It was quite good, though I think it's missing something. Next time, I'd increase the ginger for sure. Marinating for a length of time is really the way to go for best results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Teriyaki Marinade Haiku: "Needs some more ginger. I used it on some chicken. Nice with steamed veggies." Scaled it back by 1/2 and marinated boneless chicken breast in it overnight ~ grilled the chicken and ate it w/ steamed mixed veggies and rice, although I think it would've been better with more than just a pinch of ginger, and possibly a teaspoon of hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I followed recipe w/the exception of less sugar. I think I cut the sugar too much. I did add more ginger,which was a great addition,as well as sliced green onions,and marinated for about 45min. If I would have had more time I would have marinated longer. Oh btw, I did this with mahi mahi,served w/rice Hawaii style,and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

Flank Steak Marinade

What's cooking in Detroit? A flank steak marinade to wow them at the grill.

Teriyaki Flank Steak

See how to make a tasty teriyaki marinade for grilled flank steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States