Teriyaki Chicken for the Busy Cook Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
I used light soy sauce and boneless skinless chicken breasts and reduced the cooking time to 40 minutes (at 350) cooking 20 minutes on each side. The sauce was a little thin, but this may have been due to the light soy sauce. I ended up pouring the sauce through a strainer (like you would gravy) into a sauce pot and then thickened it with 2 Tbsp corn starch and water. The result was a terrific orange sauce/glaze that I poured over the breasts. I also made rice pilaf on the side and the sauce tasted really good with it. Next time I might try adding some orange zest to the sauce. Overall this recipe is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
i rate this a 5 star for easy to prepare ,and 2 stars for flavor. our family thought the chicken was dry and the chicken could have had more flavor,it needed .......... ? the chicken needed something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spikes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
i did not like this recipe at all, the chicken had very little flavor even though i let it marinate in the soda andsoy sauce for an hour. the sauce was watery and bland. i would not cook this again for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
This was WAY too easy to be so good. Everyone devoured this.. It's definitely more "orange" than teriyaki. I might add more soy sauce next time. Will definitely be making many more times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
I used chicken breasts and scored them. I added the liquid from a can of pineapple chunks (used pineapples for another recipe; could use about 1/2 c pineapple juice instead), 1/2 t ginger, 1/8 t minced garlic, 1/4 t minced onion and marinated for several hours (turning once) before cooking. I covered the pan with foil for the whole cooking time. The meat was tender and the sauce had a good teriyaki flavor without any orange taste. There was a lot of extra sauce which was used for dipping and rice, but still might cut down sauce ingredients next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This was an "OK" recipe. It wasn't extravegant, but it wasn't bad at all. I didn't really taste the orange soda at all. I made it a second time and added some teriyaki sauce and some garlic and ginger. Still just OK.The best part is,this dish is very quick and easy to put together if you use already cut up pieces, or boneless skinless breast or thighs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silvercin29

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Republic, Ohio, USA
Living In: Burgoon, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
this recipe is awesome for the simplicity and taste. I was able to improve it with less then 5 min more of prep time. I chopped up 1 onion. added 1 tablespoon of minced garlic and some ground ginger. I tried this twice. first time just letting the chicken soak long enough for oven to heat up. Second time, after trimming fat of chicken breasts. I scored them to let the absorb more of the sauce. both were delicious. next time gonna add some white wine. all in all it took me longer to trim fat of breasts then to make the sauce. on next meal I let the chicken breasts soak for 2 hours. Worked great nice and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Sorry, but my family did not care for this recipe Very bland and not much of a teriyaki flavor. Tasted like chicken cooked in orange soda. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
I think I followed this recipe to a T, but it came out really bland and the sauce didn't really get on the chicken or even thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
This taste better if you use Sprite instead. With sprite I give it a 5 otherwise maybe a 2 or 3. What I do is add 1 Cup of sprite, 1/2 Cup of veg. oil, 1/2 Cup of soy sauce, and 1 tsp of garlic. I like to marinate 12-24 hrs. It's delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cami Morrell Coy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Roasted Teriyaki Chicken

Homemade teriyaki sauce adds lip-smacking flavor to roasted chicken thighs.

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States