Teri's Dinner in a Pumpkin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I was looking for a savory way to make stuffed acorn squash and this fit the bill. I took another reviewers suggestion and used curry instead of pumpkin pie spice, and hot Italian sausage. Instead of mushrooms, I chopped up some water chestnuts -- and I served the green beans on the side, since acorn squash is so much smaller of a vehicle than a pumpkin. Thanks Teri for the inspiration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Absolutely the BEST Dinner in a Pumpkin I've ever eaten! I followed it to a tee, except for using ground turkey in place of beef. This will be a now be a traditional Halloween meal for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
This was such a fun recipe and really unique to serve. We ate it, but the leftovers aren't looking so appealing today. Not a good sign. I recommend adding the pumpkin pie spice gradually, tasting to see when enough is enough - I think it overpowered the dish. If I make it again, I'll omit it completely and cut the recipe in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
This was phenomenal! A great fall meal with excellent presentation. The spices are unique and make for a complex, intriguing dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
I was so excited to try this recipe, but am sorry to say we did not enjoy it at all. I followed the recipe exactly and was disappointed. After a bite or two, we ended up ordering pizza. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
I didn't like this at all. The spice in it didn't taste good with the hamburger mixture. Sorry, not going to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
This is an excellent way to use a smaller pumpkin...I added curry powder and cayenne pepper along with a roasted whole garlic to give it a little more flavor. Will make this every year as my family and guests gave it rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
I made this for an all pumpkin dinner and everyone really enjoyed it. Since we had 4 couples, I baked the meat mixture in 4 pie pumpkins. We'll be having this meal again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
Maybe it's just my hubby and me, but the pumpkin pie spice seemed to give it an odd flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nome, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
This was wonderful! I did cook it for about 1 1/2 hours and the pumpkin was thoroughly cooked. I also rubbed pumpkin pie spice on the inside of the pumpkin. It added a great flavor to the cooked pumkin. My dinner guests were quite impressed with the presentation. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cozy Winter Dinner

Nothing makes a dinner party more inviting than satisfying comfort food.

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States