Teresa's Hearty Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
This was excellent! Rustic, Italian comfort food. I backed off the crushed red pepper, only using about 1 teaspoon and still got a nice little bite. I removed the skin from the chicken thighs which is what we prefer and I seasoned it with salt and pepper on each side while sauteing. Used 2 packages of thighs which gave me 8 pieces. Otherwise followed as written. You can sub any kind of pasta you've got in the pantry. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
We really enjoyed this! I did add more garlic, we do love our garlic. Instead of red pepper flakes I used some cayenne pepper, didn't measure it just eyeballed it. Didn't want to chance my daughter getting one of the red peppers and refusing to eat anymore. I ended up using 8 thighs instead of the 6 and kept all the other ingredients in the same amount. Used penne pasta and served this with some crusty french bread. Yum! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Excellent recipe. I followed the recipe with the exception of adding quite a bit more red wine. WE didn't need to thicken the sauce as it was perfect as is. We served it over linguine and enjoyed every bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirklandcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I've made two versions of this dish both off this website and I prefer this recipe. The biggest difference in this recipe is coating the chicken in flour before frying, this really makes the entire meal taste better. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Next time I would follow the advice to use boneless skinless chicken and cut it up into small pieces. The flavor was nice but it didn't seep into the chicken so the meat what somewhat plain. I would try it again as I said the sauce part was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I made this last night for company. It was a hit and absolutely fabulous as written. I doubled the recipe and used boneless chicken thighs though. Breading the chicken and just browning it, putting it back in with the sauce to cook made it so tender it melted in your mouth. Oh...I also didn't have but half the mushrooms on hand but still was fabulous. If I'd had the extra mushrooms, I would've used them cause I love them. I prepped the veggies and put them in bowls prior to cooking because I had errands to run. It cut down on putting it all together at once. If it hadn't been my day off, I would've prepped the veggies in the a.m., and left the cooking for when I got home. Still needs about an hour + to cook it all. Worth the wait. I'm keeping this in my recipe box!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Made it for my boyfriend for valentine's day, we both loved it. Will definitely be making it again... Often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katastrophe91

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Very good flavor but just a bit too spicy for my taste. I will make it again but I will definitely use less red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
A-MA-ZING! Finally found a cacciatore recipe I love, and it's easy to boot. Made just as written (only exception omitted the green pepper - hate it). I used more garlic - 6 cloves or so. Do NOT skip the pancetta step. The crushed red pepper/flour/seasonings mixture was sooooo good -- just the right amount of "zing". The sauce was perfect -- makes a LOT, so I split it in half and used my immersion blender on half which I then coated the cooked rigatoni in (it sucked it all up). Then I topped the chicken pieces and pasta with the un-blended other half on the serving platter. Sooooo good. My husband of 18 years gave it a "top 5 dinner of all time" rating -- that was HUGE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
This was the best recipe I've tried in a long time. I followed everything the recipe that I didn't use the water or the cornstarch and it still thickened up perfectly. I also didn't use pancetta, I used regular pork bacon instead and this was a huge hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States