Teresa's Hearty Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
This was excellent! Rustic, Italian comfort food. I backed off the crushed red pepper, only using about 1 teaspoon and still got a nice little bite. I removed the skin from the chicken thighs which is what we prefer and I seasoned it with salt and pepper on each side while sauteing. Used 2 packages of thighs which gave me 8 pieces. Otherwise followed as written. You can sub any kind of pasta you've got in the pantry. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
We really enjoyed this! I did add more garlic, we do love our garlic. Instead of red pepper flakes I used some cayenne pepper, didn't measure it just eyeballed it. Didn't want to chance my daughter getting one of the red peppers and refusing to eat anymore. I ended up using 8 thighs instead of the 6 and kept all the other ingredients in the same amount. Used penne pasta and served this with some crusty french bread. Yum! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I've made two versions of this dish both off this website and I prefer this recipe. The biggest difference in this recipe is coating the chicken in flour before frying, this really makes the entire meal taste better. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Excellent recipe. I followed the recipe with the exception of adding quite a bit more red wine. WE didn't need to thicken the sauce as it was perfect as is. We served it over linguine and enjoyed every bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirklandcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
My husband said this was one of the best chicken cacciatore dinners he has ever had. Recommend this dish.... Easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This is a great go to dish for any hectic weeknight. Went from chopping ingredients to setting platter on the table in less than 90 minutes. Made a few changes, the first was using a large electric skillet. Also chopped applewood smoked thick slab bacon in place of pancetta, and I used boneless, skinless thighs which I butterflied for even but quick cooking. Dredged thighs in flour seasoned as written, allowed to rest while I chopped mushrooms, then re-dredged before browning the thighs. Added 4 Tablespoons butter and when melted completely, deglazed the skillet a bit, added one pound of sliced white button mushrooms, and one pound of sliced brown button mushrooms. Saute over medium low heat, turning mushrooms over until completely cooked through. Then follow recipe as written. Our boys fought over the last piece of chicken and sauce! Not only quick (butterflying the boneless, skinless thighs helps a ton) but flavorful and filling. Keeping this recipe for busy nights and picky eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Love this......... make it all the time, a great use for thighs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TerriM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Islamorada, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Very easy to make. The kids liked. My husband and I thought it was okay, not bad, but it didnt blow us away. Good recipe for a busy mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Madson
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I made this last night for company. It was a hit and absolutely fabulous as written. I doubled the recipe and used boneless chicken thighs though. Breading the chicken and just browning it, putting it back in with the sauce to cook made it so tender it melted in your mouth. Oh...I also didn't have but half the mushrooms on hand but still was fabulous. If I'd had the extra mushrooms, I would've used them cause I love them. I prepped the veggies and put them in bowls prior to cooking because I had errands to run. It cut down on putting it all together at once. If it hadn't been my day off, I would've prepped the veggies in the a.m., and left the cooking for when I got home. Still needs about an hour + to cook it all. Worth the wait. I'm keeping this in my recipe box!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
This is a great recipe, wanna give it 5 stars except that i used the full TBSP of red pepper flakes and it was too spicy for the kids. Also, I bought the pancetta just to try it. It is lovely, very delicate and delicious, but I think bacon would work well too, at less than half the price and much more availability. This also has relatively little salt but still very flavorful. It was so delicious, even with the full TBSP of red pepper! Tender, flavorful, wonderful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

How to Make Caramel Chicken

Try Chef John’s version of a wildly popular Vietnamese dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States