Tequila Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2004
What an excellent meal we made with this! We marinated 2lbs of shrimp in 1/2 cup tequila, 1/2 cup beer, some cilantro, garlic, and lime juice for about a 1/2 hour before sautéing with a tbsp of butter and some chopped onions. We served with black beans, pepper jack cheese, chopped tomatoes and avocados in whole wheat tortillas. You really can't make a more healthy or delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2001
Easy, elegant and delicious (with some changes since tequila I used was way too strong and overpowering). I made it with 3/4lb. shrimp since I was only making it for my husband and I and here is what I did: I made it with 1/4 cup tequila, 1/4 light beer, added few shakes of red pepper flakes, and fresh lime juice (almost 1 lime) and it was FANTASTICK!! Very very easy to make and I served it over pasta. I find that adding light beer to this recipe was key to increasing the amt of sauce w/out losing too much of the key ingredient - tequila.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
Delicious. I replaced half the tequila with lime juice and water, seasoned with a little margarita salt, and wrapped the cooked shrimp mixture in warm flour tortillas. My guests--who generally dislike seafood, but love margaritas and tequila--went for seconds. Very quick, easy, and fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2004
We really like this recipe. I used 1/4 cup of tequila and 1/4 cup of beer (it makes the taste more complex), and added the juice of 1/2 lime. Very easy. Serve on warm tortillas with black beans and frozen margaritas for a simple and fantastic meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
yup.... good and simple shrimp recipe. No pasta for me, I made cilantro-lime rice to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
My husband, daughter and I devoured this dish. It was excellent! I served it with Mexican rice, black beans, pico de gallo and slices of fresh avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHURMAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zapata, Texas, USA
Living In: Denison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
Real good recipe guideline. Squeeze 1/2 a lime over the shrimp when it's done cooking. Also, after adding the tequila you might want to ignite it to reduce the strong taste of alcahol. Great served with chili rellano casserole, and mexican rice with totillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
This was really good, we had chicken instead of shrimp since my hubby doens't like seafood. He loved it and he's REALLY picky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
Very good, quick meal. Next time I will sub 1/4 c. beer for 1/4 c. tequila, as the tequila flavor was a little strong for my taste. Added extra garlic and crushed red pepper, which gave it an awesome kick. I served it over rice, maybe next time will try over pasta, or in a wrap, as others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartsdale, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
Excellent quick and delicious recipe. Don't leave anything out!! I sprinkled the pasta with grated parmasan cheese before serving. I even used pre-cooked small shrimp once and it is still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States