Tennessee Rubdown Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I loved this recipe. I used it on Pork Tenderloin and grilled it on the BBQ for about an hour, turning every 10-15 minutes. I put less pepper in and it still had quite a bit of kick to it! I made it for my in-laws and they loved it too! I had some left over, so I will try it on chicken next. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Yummy! Halved the recipe, mixed with some olive oil and rubbed it over/under the skin and in the cavity of a roasting chicken. SO GOOD! Baked in a roaster in my oven for two hours and basted with Famous Amos's BBQ once five minutes before it was done. Chicken stayed moist and it was so full of flavor. Can't wait to try it on ribs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I've used this rib rub many times while grilling or baking ribs and they always turn out great. I bought my first smoker this weekend and used this rub on a rack of spareribs, the rub combined with the smoke flavor made some of the best ribs I've ever had! I highly recommend this rub!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
Wow! A ton of flavor, but way too spicy for me. It must be due to the fact that I live in Wisconsin, or something.... I used it on chicken legs, and cooked them in a roaster, since my grill was waiting on new parts. Was that what I did wrong? I feel bad, because everyone else was ranting and raving over this recipe. Liz K
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Franklin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Perfect just as submitted! My family doesn't find it too spicy at all--the flavor it gives meat is perfect. Makes the BEST ribs. A summer staple at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I make this rub every time I smoke pork. Puts a great bark on the outside. Also excellent on steak if you like a Montreal flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sandy Run, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
I had to give this rub its props....after all, it got rave reviews from my family. I rubbed it on some babyback ribs and baked them in the oven for 2 hours. My brother said they were better than restaurant ribs!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charlotte Amalie, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
Wonderful rub recipe. I've used it on pork & beef steaks and boneless country ribs. My husband always asks me if the meat I'm grilling is going to get "The Rub". He's pretty snoopy about his seasonings and meat. So when he asks for something like this.....it's a winner at our house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
This was a great rub, we used it on pork chops. I left out the white pepper, and I'm glad I did, otherwise it would have gotten too spicy. This rub will become a staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Immokalee, Florida, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
This rub was fantastic...I used it on skinless thighs..Only thing different I did was after marinating all nite, I poured some olive oil on top and worked it into the rub...refrigerated again till that evening...The meat was so moist and tender with a great flavor...cant wait to try on my ribs...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Spicy Chicken Breasts

See how to make a flavorful rub for grilled skinless, boneless chicken breasts.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States