Tennessee Rubdown Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
Wow! A ton of flavor, but way too spicy for me. It must be due to the fact that I live in Wisconsin, or something.... I used it on chicken legs, and cooked them in a roaster, since my grill was waiting on new parts. Was that what I did wrong? I feel bad, because everyone else was ranting and raving over this recipe. Liz K
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Franklin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Perfect just as submitted! My family doesn't find it too spicy at all--the flavor it gives meat is perfect. Makes the BEST ribs. A summer staple at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I make this rub every time I smoke pork. Puts a great bark on the outside. Also excellent on steak if you like a Montreal flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sandy Run, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
I had to give this rub its props....after all, it got rave reviews from my family. I rubbed it on some babyback ribs and baked them in the oven for 2 hours. My brother said they were better than restaurant ribs!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charlotte Amalie, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
Wonderful rub recipe. I've used it on pork & beef steaks and boneless country ribs. My husband always asks me if the meat I'm grilling is going to get "The Rub". He's pretty snoopy about his seasonings and meat. So when he asks for something like this.....it's a winner at our house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
This was a great rub, we used it on pork chops. I left out the white pepper, and I'm glad I did, otherwise it would have gotten too spicy. This rub will become a staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Immokalee, Florida, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
This rub was fantastic...I used it on skinless thighs..Only thing different I did was after marinating all nite, I poured some olive oil on top and worked it into the rub...refrigerated again till that evening...The meat was so moist and tender with a great flavor...cant wait to try on my ribs...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
This rub was a total triumph! I rubbed it on some pork ribs and all the adults loved it. This recipe only got 4 stars because even though I decreased the crushed red pepper for the kids, the meat was still too spicy for them. Will have to cut it back even more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
I decided to make Bacon Wrapped Barbeque Shrimp at the last second for a party and I didn't have barbeque seasoning, let alone knowing what went in it. This appetizer turned out to be the crowd favorite hugely due to this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
Really, really good! Tried it on spareribs, and they came out just like the best Tennessee BBQ! Needs no "tweaking", perfect as submitted. Thanks for this one, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Mesic, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Fajita Seasoning

Turn simple spices into a flavorful fajita seasoning blend.

Spicy Chicken Breasts

See how to make a flavorful rub for grilled skinless, boneless chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States