Tender Potato Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2003
These biscuits were excellent - soft and tender, inside just as the name implies. The recipe made 10 good sized biscuits
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
Pretty good biscuits! The recipe definitely needs an additional 1/4 cup of flour, plus maybe a little more. I ended up with 10 good sized tender and moist biscuits. They're a tiny bit more on the dense side than light and airy. They're also slightly sweet. I would imagine if you cut the sugar down a tad and added some shredded cheddar and garlic salt, they would make good potato cheese biscuits- I'll have to try it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
These were the lightest fluffiest biscuits I have ever baked-- and I've been baking for about 40 years! I did not use the water-- just added enough milk to make a firm biscuit dough. I am guessing some of the difference in texture and height is due to the various amounts of butter and/or milk in the leftover potatoes. Additionally, the type of potato may account for different results, as some are more starchy than others. My family and I are sold on these biscuits. They were also delicious warmed over the next morning for sausage and egg sandwiches. 10 stars for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
My family LOVED these biscuits. I didn't add the water it called for, as the milk made the dough moist enough. I also put in less sugar. I didn't want to take the time to roll out the dough, so I floured my hands, rolled in quick balls, flattened, and they turned out just wonderful. My mashed potatoes from Sunday had the skins on and that didn't seem to change the biscuits in any way. This is a recipe I will keep and Pass on! I have 3 kids ranging in age from 5 to 11 and they all loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5frys

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Super awesome. I didn't add any extra sugar, I used buttermilk, and I made these into drop biscuits in my muffin tin. Great recipe. I'd like to add some spices the next time I make this, like rosemary and garlic. This recipe made twelve really large biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
I have to give these five stars. I mixed mine in the mixer so I didn’t have a problem with too much liquid. I only added till the dough was right. Mine came out light and soft with a good taste. You could add less sugar or no sugar. One other thing I did was use potato flakes, which gave them a slight potato taste without adding moisture. Overall a very good recipe. This one is my new favorite biscuit recipe. Definitely a keeper. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
These were delicious! I made the recipe as directed, but doubled it. I thought "8 servings" would mean 8 biscuits, but I ended up with 24! Not complaining at all (and neither are my kids). One thing to note with this recipe (and all biscuit recipes): essential to keep ingredients cold. The butter needs to be hard, straight from the fridge. If it's softened or melted, the dough will be too sticky to handle. Use cold water and cold milk, and make sure the mashed potatoes are at least room temperature (although the dough will be easier to handle if they've been refrigerated). We ate these with turkey and gravy for lunch on the day after Thanksgiving... couldn't have been better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
These biscuits are indeed very light and fluffy. I made the recipe exactly as instructed using leftover Thanksgiving mashed potatoes, skins and all. The skins in the biscuits were a little disturbing and I wouldn't recommend using that type of mashed potatoes again. The biscuits were nothing spectacular and actually rather tasteless but as I stated before very light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
So I had left over mashed potatoes and didn't want to throw them out. Came on the sight and found this recipe. WOW! Glad I stumbled upon this one. I followed the recipe exactly. I mean I didn't change a thing. Tender, fluffy biscuits turned out. I had 18 good sized biscuits and my kids loved them. Even my picky eater husband liked them. Thanks for the recipe. I will never again throw away my mashed potatoes. Next time I will try to throw in some grated cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
that's a keeper indeed: I used plain boiled potatoes just smashed with a fork, they turned out to perfection. I like the idea of adding parmesan cheese, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

My Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake

An easy, delicious way to enjoy leftover mashed potatoes for breakfast or dinner.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States