Tender Potato Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
These were delicious! They rose amazingly high, and had a wonderful tender interior. I made these with ~2C of leftover mashed potatoes (made with only skim milk the night before) - the extra potato made it moist enough that I didn't need to add the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Thanks for this. I won the battle over leftover potato salad with this recipe! My little one and I made these with no changes except using pureed potato salad instead of mashed potatoes & we turned the oven down to 350, as ours runs a bit hot! They were so good! May try drop method next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADRIENNE27

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
These were awesome! I left out the salt, and put in garlic salt and about a cup (or so) of cheddar cheese. My husband, who just isn't a huge bread guy, ate 3 at dinner and asked for one this morning with his eggs and sausage saying they "were REALLY good honey" . Little did he know they were the easiest things in the world to make. Only took about 10min. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
used oil in place of butter. LOVED how they turned out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by momma_s
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I made these into garlic cheddar biscuits by reducing the sugar to 1.5Tbs, adding 1tsp garlic powder (Ok a little more. We like garlic.) and 1/2 cup shredded cheddar. I left out the water, used 1/2 cup whole milk but ended up having to use 3 cups flour. My mashers were from the Moe's Fabulous Mashed Potatoes recipe which uses Yukon potatoes instead of Russet. These were very light and fluffy with a slightly different texture than regular mashers. Lastly, at 450 after 15 minutes, the biscuit bottoms were very dark, but insides *just* finished. Next time I'll either lower the temp and cook longer, or move the oven rack up one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma_s

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
These were the lightest fluffiest biscuits I have ever baked-- and I've been baking for about 40 years! I did not use the water-- just added enough milk to make a firm biscuit dough. I am guessing some of the difference in texture and height is due to the various amounts of butter and/or milk in the leftover potatoes. Additionally, the type of potato may account for different results, as some are more starchy than others. My family and I are sold on these biscuits. They were also delicious warmed over the next morning for sausage and egg sandwiches. 10 stars for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
First time I've made biscuits and it won't be the last. These were soooo good!! I can't think of a better way to use up left over mash potatoes. My mash potatoes had garlic and herbs so I didn't find these biscuits too sweet like the other reviews but I also added a bit of parm cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
This recipe was excellent! I was looking for a way to get rid of extra mashed potatoes and this fit perfectly. I did not add the sugar and instead added 1 tsp garlic powder and 1/4 cup sour cream and they came out very light and fluffy. I used them as an open faced turkey pot pie. Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
I was a bit skeptical when I saw this recipe but I tried it and it is GREAT! I only had whole wheat flour on hand and I used leftover garlic mashed potatos and they were lighter than any other biscuits I've tried to make with WW flour. I am glad I tried this recipe. It made almost twice as many biscuits as was listed but they are so good I am glad to eat them again tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConnorsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
These reminded my husband of McDonald's biscuits. They hold together well! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blessed Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Branch, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Waffles

See how to make this genius savory recipe for waffles.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States