Tender Potato Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by SNOHFLAKE
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Excellent and easy. Based on the reviews here I cut the sugar down to about 1/3 of the amount called for in the recipe and it was the perfect amount. I didn't want them sweet since my mashed potatoes had fresh chives in them. I sprinkled in some Penzey's Fox Point seasoning (awesome blend of shallots, garlic, onion, garlic, salt) for a savory note. When I first mixed in the wet ingredients I left out the water, and then added gradually as I was shaping the ball of dough with the fork in the mixing bowl. I did use all the water called for in the recipe. Thanks for a yummy way to use up left over mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Media, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
These are so good, I can't wait to make them again. Because I made them with sausage gravy I only used 2 T. sugar, I was afraid they might be too sweet otherwise. I still have some leftover mashed potatoes so we may have them for breakfast again tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I doubled the recipe and added a box of stuffing. It's great for Thanksgiving if you're using turkey, and awesome for ranch dip if you're using chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
that's a keeper indeed: I used plain boiled potatoes just smashed with a fork, they turned out to perfection. I like the idea of adding parmesan cheese, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
Wow! What a great way to use up those leftovers! Don't get grossed out but I used leftover potato salad that I wasn't too pleased with and added some mashed potato flakes to absorb some of the liquid. Also added some garlic powder and some parsley flakes. Kneaded in the bowl and just shaped into biscuit shapes. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
Its so cool! You never would guess it had potatoes in them. My daughter and husband gobbled up and were flabbergasted that there were potatoes in them. They loved them. I liked it because I didnt have to use shortening. And great way to use up potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djhens70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
these came out very well. next time i think i will add some cheese, or herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fordham, Cambridgeshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
Nice dough. I used instant mashed potatoes. These have an interesting texture, not your typical tender, flakey biscuits, but good non the less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
a little on the sweet side
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
Fantastic. Light and fluffy with almost a melt in your mouth quality. They rise up prettily and have an excellent texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Waffles

See how to make this genius savory recipe for waffles.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States