Tender Pork Spare Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Started the night before knowing I would need time to do it right. All the boys loved them. I had everything in the house except used what I believe is just regular paprika. Very tender and fall of the bone and great tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
So disappointed. I followed the recipe as written. Smelled fabulous when baking (250 degrees 3 hrs. Took them out of the oven and unwrapped the foil in anticipation of tasting some fabulous ribs. Instead all I had were tough,inedible pieces of meat. Lots of time and money wasted here. I do not know what I did that made these turn out this way. I have reviewed the recipe again to see what I forgot but cannot find anything. I will have to throw these away. We were really looking forward to our rib dinner, too. Many have obviously had great success with this recipe but I am not sure that I will give it another go in the future or not. Well, that's the 'fun' of cooking and some you win and some you don't!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Excellent! I have always struggled with ribs. My husband usually barbeques them and it is hit or miss. I'll be making them this way from now on. I made this as stated as much as I could - used regular paprika and St. Louis style pork ribs because that is what I had. Next time, I would probably add bbq sauce directly on the meat for the last 5 minutes but we're a family who love bbq sauce. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I'm about to make this up right now!! Hopefully it turns out well. I used the ingredients from so it will taste better for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I added half a bottle of liquid smoke & a tsp of smoke salt to give it that outdoor grilled flavor. You can also finish cooking this on a grill. I also added sesame oil. I had to heat up the liquid a bit to get the honey to blend. It kept sticking to the bottom. I'm going to try this recipe with brisket. I hope its just as good. Patti
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fuzzywuzzy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Excellent! Sooooo tender and the spice mixture is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
its ok i will try without the fajita mix next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
love, love, love! i did not have a rack of ribs, just three good size chunks of meat. it fell apart to the touch! the whole family loved it...even the little being growing inside my belly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by serena shultz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fortuna, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
this was good. I had 1 rack baby back pork ribs and rubbed with mesquite grill spice from pantry and the brown sugar. mixed liquid as called for but added 1 tsp onion powder and 1 tsp sambal oelek (could've used a TBS as there still wasn't enough heat) The sauce never really did thicken even after 30min and additonal 1/4 c brown sugar (I thought it tasted a tiny bit bitter from the garlic?) but after basting 2x while broiling for 6 min it carmelized nicely. hubs n I both enjoyed, he took the leftovers to work! will do again, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
these were just "okay", granted i did not follow the recipe exactly. The meat just fell off the bone and maintained it's juiciness fairly well, but considering the effort to give it flavor, that was the area it seemed to lack. Granted, i didn't have the Fajita seasoning (or brown sugar) so had to improvise and only marinated 2hrs vs overnight. Will try again ... the concept of the foil wrap and slow cook works well ... just need to tweak the flavoring. Also, i'm not sure what I did wrong, but I didn't see much use in simmering the drippings. It never thickened for me & seemed an unecessary step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States