Tender Pork Spare Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Oh. My. God. These ribs are to die for!! I made them for Memorial Day weekend. My son told me he was only going to have "a couple" because he had another bbq to attend. He ended up eating a rack and a half and called his friend to say he would be late! My husband couldn't stop eating them either. I made them exactly as written and I wouldn't change a thing! They were the most finger lickin', fall off the bone ribs I ever had. I loved them so much I went into my recipe box and threw out every other rib recipe I had in the house. I cooked down the liquid as stated and it made an incredible sauce. We were tasting it as it was cooking down and could barely leave it alone. I highly recommend this recipe. It is absolutely fabulous. My only regret is I can't give it more than five stars. I'd give it ten if I could. Thanks so much for a fabulous recipe that my family will be enjoying for many years to come. I can't wait to make them again....4th of July is coming up soon! Seriously, try this recipe. You won't be sorry. I think the people who had problems weren't doing something right. After they came out of the oven, I finished them off outside on the grill. I used Sam Adams summer ale for the beer but I think any light color ale would work. I wouldn't use Guinness or a dark beer. I didn't find low sodium fajita mix. I used Old el Paso regular and it was awesome!! I didn't notice any salty taste at all. Mmmmmmm, mmmmmm, GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoanieGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Beverly, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
These ribs were unbelievably tender, with the meat falling off the bone. My family thought they were tasty, but a touch bland. Perhaps I should have brushed more sauce over them. Anyhow, we spiced up the leftovers with a little store-bought BBQ sauce and it was fantastic. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Hands down the best rib recipe out there! If you have been looking for an awesome rib recipe this is it. This is best with a nice pale ale for the beer and throwing the ribs on the grill instead of broiling them gives it a great BBQ taste. Really, you could use any flavoring you want. It is the technique of cooking them in the oven, sealed in aluminum foil with the extra liquid that makes them fall off the bone. Next time we are making teriyaki ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Started the night before knowing I would need time to do it right. All the boys loved them. I had everything in the house except used what I believe is just regular paprika. Very tender and fall of the bone and great tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
So disappointed. I followed the recipe as written. Smelled fabulous when baking (250 degrees 3 hrs. Took them out of the oven and unwrapped the foil in anticipation of tasting some fabulous ribs. Instead all I had were tough,inedible pieces of meat. Lots of time and money wasted here. I do not know what I did that made these turn out this way. I have reviewed the recipe again to see what I forgot but cannot find anything. I will have to throw these away. We were really looking forward to our rib dinner, too. Many have obviously had great success with this recipe but I am not sure that I will give it another go in the future or not. Well, that's the 'fun' of cooking and some you win and some you don't!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Excellent! I have always struggled with ribs. My husband usually barbeques them and it is hit or miss. I'll be making them this way from now on. I made this as stated as much as I could - used regular paprika and St. Louis style pork ribs because that is what I had. Next time, I would probably add bbq sauce directly on the meat for the last 5 minutes but we're a family who love bbq sauce. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I'm about to make this up right now!! Hopefully it turns out well. I used the ingredients from so it will taste better for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I added half a bottle of liquid smoke & a tsp of smoke salt to give it that outdoor grilled flavor. You can also finish cooking this on a grill. I also added sesame oil. I had to heat up the liquid a bit to get the honey to blend. It kept sticking to the bottom. I'm going to try this recipe with brisket. I hope its just as good. Patti
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fuzzywuzzy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Excellent! Sooooo tender and the spice mixture is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
its ok i will try without the fajita mix next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States