Tender Pork Spare Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This was really good, but I didnt use fajita seasoning when i made it, or sugar. Instead i let it cook in a bit of cola.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by savina

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe. Lots of flavor and the most tender, fall off the bone meat you'll ever cook. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of reducing the sauce. I ended up with close to 2 cups of sauce after braising which took 20 min on medium heat to thicken up. The sauce was also VERY salty from 1/2 cup of fajita seasoning and I ended up adding about a 1/4 cup of brown sugar and a Tbsp of dijon mustard and it was perfect. **TIP** do not forgo the broil process, this gives the meat a nice sticky, caramelized coating that is the key to finishing the flavor of these ribs. One final thing, don't omit the fajita season (I used Fiesta brand), it helps to tenderize and lends lots of flavor. I will definitely be making these again and I think I'll try some liquid smoke next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I used the basic outline of this recipe and it is to die for, I used McCormicks Sweet and Spicy rub instead of fajita seasoning with the brown sugar, and bbq and mesquite grilling spices, and mojo crillo for the liquid, that was all, I used the juice at the end with 1 cup of BBQ sauce boiled and reduced before I broiled them, we werent even done with dinner before the kids asked when we were having them again. I cant wait to try a brisket using this recipe as a guideline I finally did try it with the brisket, bake at 300 for 5 hours, it melts in your mouth, my husband and kids have asked for the brisket and ribs again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Oh. My. God. These ribs are to die for!! I made them for Memorial Day weekend. My son told me he was only going to have "a couple" because he had another bbq to attend. He ended up eating a rack and a half and called his friend to say he would be late! My husband couldn't stop eating them either. I made them exactly as written and I wouldn't change a thing! They were the most finger lickin', fall off the bone ribs I ever had. I loved them so much I went into my recipe box and threw out every other rib recipe I had in the house. I cooked down the liquid as stated and it made an incredible sauce. We were tasting it as it was cooking down and could barely leave it alone. I highly recommend this recipe. It is absolutely fabulous. My only regret is I can't give it more than five stars. I'd give it ten if I could. Thanks so much for a fabulous recipe that my family will be enjoying for many years to come. I can't wait to make them again....4th of July is coming up soon! Seriously, try this recipe. You won't be sorry. I think the people who had problems weren't doing something right. After they came out of the oven, I finished them off outside on the grill. I used Sam Adams summer ale for the beer but I think any light color ale would work. I wouldn't use Guinness or a dark beer. I didn't find low sodium fajita mix. I used Old el Paso regular and it was awesome!! I didn't notice any salty taste at all. Mmmmmmm, mmmmmm, GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoanieGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Beverly, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
very good and the whole family really enjoyed it, even the neighbors. I did tweek it a little. I used wine instead of beer and spicy BBQ rub instead of fajita mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindagwynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Deming, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Really great ribs.....followed the recipe exactly, except we barbecued them outside instead of broiling. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pattipoopidoo
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Wow! These were the best ribs I have ever eaten! It takes a lot for me to really want to make a recipe again and this was honestly the tenderest, tastiest wrack of ribs I've ever eaten for such little work. I will never make ribs any other way again ever. I made a few minor changes and kept the method the same. I have a lot of spice blends from Penzey's so I decided to use a heavy dose of some Northwoods Fire mixed with a handful of brown sugar instead of the seasoning mentioned. Also, It is July and I did not want to heat up my apartment with having an oven on for 3 hours so I used my cusinart convection toaster oven and baked the ribs for 3 hours at 350 on the convection setting and they were meltingly tender beyond what I can describe to you. The meat had the most wonderful flavor that completely permeated it. Oh, also, I have something called a Deni meat tenderizer which I poked throughout the ribs after I rubbed it with seasoning so the seasoning really penetrated the ribs and I didn't give them any marinating time at all, I just put them in the oven right after covering with the spice rub. To finish, I did not use the pan juices because I felt that there was a lot of fat that drained off the ribs during cooking so I brushed a tad of Bullseye BBQ sauce which was voted the top store BBQ sauce from Cooks Illustrated. I finished under the broiler for about 10 minutes and these ribs were one of the best things I've ever made and I cook all the time.Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, New York, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
If you have someone to impress, this is a great recipe!!! I hate trying a new recipe when I'm intertaining, but I took a chance with this one and I even impressed myself. This is an easy rib recipe that turns out perfect the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bisbee, Arizona, USA
Living In: Willow Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
These turned out wonderfully!!!! I used a red wine instead of beer. plus I cooked it on 375 for 3 and a half hours. they were SO good!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladykatherin21

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Family loved them; glad I bought an extra rack of ribs while they were on sale! Forgot to save the drippings to make a sauce, but kids and hubby loved them anyway. Thanks for posting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States