Tender Pork Spare Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
This recipe was wonderful! I made this in my crock pot and it was fall off the bone tender and flavorful. I only made 1 rack for my husband and myself. I used 1/2 C brown sugar, 1/4 C cajan seasoning and 2 tbs smokehouse maple for the rub. I Used 1 bottle honey wheat beer for a little extra flavor. Garlic, honey and mustard as directed. I set the croc pot to low and let it cook for 3 1/2 hrs. I was very pleased with how simple this recipe was. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Liberty Center, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
awsome ribs! we have made these ribs three times now and they were so good. The only thing was the sauce didn't thicken like i thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shaybugg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deshler, Ohio, USA
Living In: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
These ribs were fall off the bone tender. I made according to the recipe, I just cut some of the fajita mix and added more garlic. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendybird82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
like everyone else said.. full of flavor! so good. I tasted the rub by itself before I put it on the meat, and It was so nasty. it made my stomach hurt. I thought there was no way this is gonna be good but I went with it anyways cuz of all the reviews and im glad I did! such a unique taste for ribs. I used chicken broth instead of beer cuz somebody drank it and I made the sauce used to pour over the ribs before cooking two more times (so i tripled it and used 1/3 for the ribs before sealing it in the foil) along with some brown sugar and paprika and thickened that up and used it as my final glaze bc what was on the pan was burnt black (but it didn't affect the meat). I also baked my 5 lb slab of ribs at 350 for one and a half hours, at 250 for one hour, and 325 for 30 min. I get scared with baking meat for a long time so I play with the temps a lot, but it came out perfectly. I will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Haven't yet eaten them yet - they're in the oven, but I loved how the dry rub smelled and how the basting sauce is making our house smell as these are baking! Loved the video! Glad that I took the time to watch it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
These ribs are awesome! I used a Dakota seasoning recipe I found online and substituted moscato for the beer since I wanted to save my last gluten-free beer for dinner. I also grilled them instead of broiling. They were so tender I had trouble getting them onto the grill. Best. Ribs. Ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This recipe was pretty easy to follow, especially when it was my first time making ribs and I had only 6 hours to cook it. So my review might help those who want to make ribs but have less than 7 hours. I made it with three racks, and did not have time to refrigerate before cooking. I had cut the racks to make four pans. It did not affect the tenderness or taste. I also did not use the garlic, honey or mustard since I was short on time and wanted to get the ribs in the oven so they could cook for the four hours. After four hours I poured about a cup of the drippings with two cups of sweet baby rays in a sauce pan and boiled it down. After flipping the ribs over, I brushed the ribs with the sauce and left the temp at 250 and repeated @ 3 times for @ 15 minutes. I kept them in the oven b/c there were too many racks of ribs to move to the counter or top rack to broil or grill outside. Also, people were hanging out in the kitchen (like they always do) and I didn't want to navigate around them to get to the grill. I made the foil packets for the ribs, and put them in foil trays. I think this worked better than the cookie tray since the juices from the ribs and beer sauce spilled out of the foil packets and would have have been hard to manage if they were in a shallow cookie sheet. Plus easy clean up! Hope my review helps shy rib cooks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
GOOD FLAVOR, HOWEVER YOU CAN GET THE SAME TENDERNESS BAKING AT 500 COVERED FOR AN HOUR, THEN CRISPING UNDER THE BROILER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I want to try my chicken rub next time. I used Pepsi since that's what I had on hand instead of beer. It was very tender and moist and enjoyed by the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
These ribs turned out perfectly! They were so tender and had a lot of flavor! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States