Tender Pork Spare Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
this was good. I had 1 rack baby back pork ribs and rubbed with mesquite grill spice from pantry and the brown sugar. mixed liquid as called for but added 1 tsp onion powder and 1 tsp sambal oelek (could've used a TBS as there still wasn't enough heat) The sauce never really did thicken even after 30min and additonal 1/4 c brown sugar (I thought it tasted a tiny bit bitter from the garlic?) but after basting 2x while broiling for 6 min it carmelized nicely. hubs n I both enjoyed, he took the leftovers to work! will do again, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
these were just "okay", granted i did not follow the recipe exactly. The meat just fell off the bone and maintained it's juiciness fairly well, but considering the effort to give it flavor, that was the area it seemed to lack. Granted, i didn't have the Fajita seasoning (or brown sugar) so had to improvise and only marinated 2hrs vs overnight. Will try again ... the concept of the foil wrap and slow cook works well ... just need to tweak the flavoring. Also, i'm not sure what I did wrong, but I didn't see much use in simmering the drippings. It never thickened for me & seemed an unecessary step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I have made these ribs twice. They are absolutely the best home made ribs...follow the instructions and they will melt in your mouth. The second time I made them I added some chipotle powder and cumin to my fajita seasoning.These were excellent addtions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
love the rub, but the beer gave it a musky flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Cooked for 3.5 hrs at 250. Overdone and mushy. Flavor was good, but just the wrong texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I didn't like the fajita/paprika seasoning (4 stars), but the method was brilliant (5 stars), so I'd say it's a 4-1/2 star recipe, but I didn't get that option. I'm going to try this again with a more traditional seasoning and I'll report back if I find any good combos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Awesome recipe! Followed this recipe exactly and they were a huge hit. My Texan sister and brother in law insisted on the recipe and said they are as good as any rib joint in Texas! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caroline99

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
WOW! My only complaint is I didn't make enough! Will definitely double it next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bath, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Great recipe! I used cola instead of beer but still awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Great. I didn't use pre-mixed fajita seasoning; I subbed cumin, chili powder, garlic powder, salt, and crushed coriander and crushed mustard seeds. Otherwise, followed recipe to the letter, using the 4 hour braise time. Excellent, sticky, sweet and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States