Tender Onion Baked Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
I needed something quick for dinner tonight and this fit with what I had on hand. I wish I would have read the reviews first, I agree that it was too salty. I did it different though. I mixed the soup mix with some seasoned bread crumbs. I dipped the tenders into the butter then into the soup mix and crumb mixture and then put it into the pan. I drizzled the left over butter over the top of the tenders then put into the oven. They were tasty and quick. Next time I may reduce the soup mix to cut some salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
This was surprisingly good. I did think it was too salty as well from the mix. I would advise to use 1/2 as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
I made this because it was such a quick meal to fix...This recipe is a good example of the importance of not being in a hurry! Way too salty...overpowering flavor from the onion soup packet. Not very good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTIETEMA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Really surprisingly tasty and satisfying. I omitted the extra salt & pepper and only used 1/2 packet for 4 chicken breasts. Just sprinkle on as you would any seasoning, you'll know when to stop. Pour the melted butter on first so you don't wash off the soup mix, but go easy enough on the butter that the onions have a chance to get crispy. I served w/ plain white rice and a salad. 4 breasts only took 23 minutes to bake, by the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2005
Quick and easy recipe. I read the other reviewers comments, and only used half of the onion soup mix, cutting out the additional salt altogether. I also served it with plain couscous, which toned down the saltiness of the chicken. All in all, it came out tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
I made this as the recipe calls, only I added about a cup of sliced mushrooms to it. Chicken was most and flavorful, but too salty (I did not add any salt). The gravy it made was nice with mashed potatoes. It was OK, not bad for so little work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homosassa, Florida, USA
Living In: Freeport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
Another variation of this is to cut out 1/2 cup of water and to add 1/2 cup of sherry. It really adds flavor and the chicken is still really tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
We really enjoyed this dinner. The only change I made was to not add the additional salt as the onion soup mix already has plenty of salt. It is a very quick dinner to put together. Lay the chicken in pan, pour over butter and soup mix and pop in the oven. While the chicken was baking I made white sticky rice to go with the chicken, and "Skillet Cabbage" from this site. Dinner was good and I will make this recipe again. Thanks Kim in Oklahoma for sharing your chicken recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I made this today. The flavor is wonderful…but I wouldn't add any more salt to it. Butter has salt and so does the soup mix; it would have been way too salty. My daughters, age 7 and 9, loved it. Served it with a fairly plain baked potato and salad. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
Made recipe as is except that I added a piece of swiss cheese on top. Really too salty, next time I will not use salt, and I will mix soup mix with water first.Husband still liked it, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B.Wilkinson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tender Italian Baked Chicken

This flavorful, moist baked chicken dish is ready in just 30 minutes.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Baked Split Chicken Breast

See how to make easy, juicy baked chicken with a delicious, crispy skin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States