Tender Italian Baked Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2008
So yummy! There wasn't even a crumb left over. I would have given this 5 stars but I added additional spices to the mayo mixtures....thyme, rosemary, oregano, and dried parsley for color. It was so moist, so tender, and so fast! I made mine on top of a wire rack on a cookie sheet, and then flipped them for the last 5 minutes so that it would be crispy all the way around. Delicious! I can't wait to try it with Kraft Dijonaise instead of mayo for a little less fat and more flavor. *edit* I think it's a MUST to cook this on a wire rack and flip at the end....we didn't do this the second time I made it and it was a soggy mess on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catglaw

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
great recipe! I dipped the chicken in Italian dressing instead of mayo., but the chicken stayed so moist and tender, it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
528 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BrookeD
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
WOOT WOOT ! lol. I did make some minor changes that i think helped make this dish 5 stars. Try using crushed croutons instead of the Italian bread crumbs. It made it that much more crunchier! Use chicken tenderloins, that way the chicken crunches up better. I also cooked it on a pampered chef stone! YUMM, I loved this and will make it several times a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
332 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
This is such a great recipe! My Mom used to make this all the time when I was a kid. I usually go an egg wash, but I thought I'd give the mayo a try just for old times sake and to see what my husband thought. I added more seasoning to my bread crumbs (parsley, oregano, basil, rosemary) and used Hellman's light mayo and light Parmesan cheese. I sprayed the bottom of the baking dish with Pam so nothing would stick and these came out moist and delicious - perfect with a side of twice baked potates and a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and this came out really, REALLY good! I almost didn't try this b/c I hate the taste of mayo and parm cheese but since others said you couldn't taste them I decided to give it a try. They were right... I didn't taste either one of them at all! I used this to make chicken parmesam (sp?) and my husband LOVED this! My only suggestion is if you have really thick breasts to either cut them in half or pound them down. I think this would of been even better/crisper if the chicken was thinner. My breasts must of been on Steriods b/c they were HUGE! LOL I did use the suggestion to cook it on a cookie rack (on a covered cookie sheet)and I turned each breast 5 mins before they were done to crisp the bottem as well and that worked good... I'll probably do that every time now. And now I'll probably try the other suggestions for adding different spices and maybe using real garlic since I always have fresh garlic on hand. Thanks for the recipe.. This was so much better than using store bought breaded chicken patties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by giggletush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
So good! Five stars with added spices. Made half mayo/cheese mixture which was enough for 3 breasts. Added onion powder, kosher salt and pepper. Everything else exactly as listed. My daughter declared it her "favorite chicken!" Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
This recipe was so darn easy to make, and the chicken was so moist and tender, and delicious - my family love it, and since it's easy to make this recipe is a keeper. I was concerned that using mayo would make this a greasy dinner, but no way, it was not. I just wiggled the chicken, both sides, in the mayo mixture, then into the bread crumbs. I covered mine in a 9x13 glass baking dish for the first 15 minutes of cook time, then I cooked another 10 minutes uncovered, then I actually turned on the broiler for five last minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Gardner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Middle River, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
it's a good recipe but i don't think mayo is the best ingredient to dip the chicken in. Mayonnaise as u know is an emulsion of mustard, oil and egg yolk; so when it is heated it seperates and the oil oozes away making the bread crumbs moist and non crispy. try replacing the mayo with just eggs or egg-mustard dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beirut, Beirut, Lebanon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Excellent. I can't help but think that making my own fresh bread crumbs and seasoning them with my favorite Tuscan seasoning blend helped. So did using freshly grated Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese and seasoning the chicken well with salt and freshly ground pepper. The seasoning I used has a fair amount of "green stuff" in it, otherwise I would have added fresh chopped parsley to the mix. The chicken looked a little dry going in, so I spritzed it with olive oil and I think that made a huge difference in getting the coating crispy and golden. This turned out tender, juicy and with the crisp coating I had hoped for. Just delicious. Another of those "big pay-off for little effort" type of recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Try using Greek yogurt instead of mayo for a healthy alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 518) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tender Italian Baked Chicken

This flavorful, moist baked chicken dish is ready in just 30 minutes.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States