Tender Barbecued Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
This was delicious, loved it! I used Diet Pepsi to keep the calories down and because Pepsi is preferable to Coke in my family. Still tasted amazing! The chicken melted in your mouth and was wonderfully flavored. The lemon taste was very light, you hardly even noticed it. I would recommend cutting it in halves and squeezing the juice into the crock pot, then tossing in the rinds for flavor rather than thinly slicing. When you slice it thin, the lemon shreds like the chicken and becomes the same color as the chicken. It was then very hard to find them and pull out the pieces. If you missed one and ate it was like WOAH lemon! This is probably what some of the other readers were referring to. But with the lemon removed after cooking it was fabulous! I would also recommend using a thinner bun like a regular hamburger bun. For our first dinner I had nice gourmet buns but you couldn't taste the chicken at all, just the bread. FAR better on a thinner (and cheaper) bun. Great recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrishDncr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I chose to make this using chicken breasts and then shredded the chicken to use on sandwiches. Delicious, easy, and so little work using the slow cooker. Will be making again in the upcoming fall months!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Very good. Left out the lemon since i didn't have any. did add some minced garlic. Cooked on high for 5 hours. Turned out exactly as described!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
The chicken turned out great. Very tender and easy to pull apart after less than 9 hours on low. My family did not care for the sauce. It seemed very bitter with the lemon. Next time I will omit the lemon entirely and maybe add some hot sauce to give it the zing that I thought the lemon would do. A good recipe and one I will go to frequently once I get the sauce perfected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
This was a really good recipe. I omitted the lemon only because we're not huge citrus fans. I used Sweet Baby Ray's bbq sauce and pepsi. I also used boneless skinless chicken breasts because that is what I had on hand. It came out so tender. I ended up shredding it and we ate it on buns. Will definitely make this again. It was easy and had a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I made this for Memorial Day; since my mother has difficulty chewing and swallowing (stroke) I'm always looking for things that I can adapt to her menu. I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts, K.C. Masterpiece sauce, vidalia onion, minced garlic cloves, sliced lemon and diet cola. Slow-cookered on high for about five hours, then removed the chicken and shredded it. I strained the sauce and transferred it to a saucepan on the stovetop, reduced it by about 1/3 and returned the sauce and shredded chicken to the slow cooker to keep warm. Mom ate it with potato salad and fruit; everyone else made sandwiches on ciabatta rolls. Thumbs up all around! In reference to the reviews not using/liking the lemon - I found that it added a nice tang and balanced the sweetness of the cola.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Provincetown, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Middletown, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This was not a great success in my kitchen. I cooked it for the 8 hours (5 chicken thighs) and maybe used only half a bottle of sauce. it was sorta like chicken jerky. kinda ok I guess, but not what I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Delish! Couldn't have been easier and I loved the bright flavor of the lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJBHOME

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Chicken was watery and lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I used boneless chicken breast and sprinkled minced onion, a few drops of lemon. I used bbq sauce with diet coke. It turned out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States