Ten Minute Szechuan Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
Do note--if you expect any kind of sauce, don't. I forgot that Szechuan Chicken usually doesn't come with sauce. When I selected this recipe, I expected something along the lines of Kung Pao Chicken, which usually comes with sauce. The chicken had an exceptionally good flavor and served with rice, is a definite winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2005
Overall, this is a good recipe. I made some changes to this recipe to suit my taste. Reduce the amount of soysauce to 2 TSP, and add 1/2 TSP directly to the meat. Add 1 more tsp of sugar to balance the flavor. Add a dash of five spice powder or ginger to give it authenticity. I tried the recipe with beef, and it turned out good. This is definitely a keeper. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
Every time I make this recipe, it turns out fantastic and people love it. The prep time has made it take over an hour before, depending on how many vegetables I chop up and mix in (e.g. carrots, broccoli, cauliflower, bell pepper, mushroom, green onion) or if I need to de-bone the meat. I would also suggest adding peanuts to the sauce. Using the original recipe, i.e. boneless skinless meat and not chopping any veggies, this is superfast and easy. When cooking the rice, I like to add a little soy sauce and/or Szechuan seasoning to the rice water for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
We have updated this recipe to include 1 teaspoon of sugar as per the original submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
Seems to me that some of these recipes just "run together." Its a "different recipe" but the same flavor. THIS recipe is great in that it is unique in flavor, not to mention it tastes great :) It is very fast and it is versatile. That being said, double up the sauce! :) Its great with pork or beef too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARFISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
I made this last night, but I adjusted the recipe to suit my family's tastes. I only used 3 tblsp soy sauce. To make up for the liquid, I added 1 tblsp Chinese cooking wine,(sherry would work too,) and also 1 tblsp sesami oil. I increased the amount of cayenne pepper to 1/4 tsp and only used one green onion. Also, I added that green onion during the last few minutes of cooking since my family is not fond of the raw onion taste. The family loved this dish and I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
I added sesame seeds and a little extra cayenne pepper, and it was perfect, especially served with veggies over steamed white rice. Exactly what I was hoping for. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2005
Great Recipe! Super easy, I found the preptime was even less than stated, I cook rice for 20 minutes, and I did all the prep work and cooked it and it was ready right as the rice was. I used rice vinegar instead, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
WOW, this is to die for! It did however take me much longer than 10 mins, but I tripled the recipe...and I used pork loin instead of chicken. I would suggest that you use a deep fryer to do the frying. It stuck to my pan and burned, the cornstarch I am guessing. Then after the meat is fried add the garlic and other ingredients. I also only put in a dash of the pepper as my youngest and I really do mix well with alot of heat. I will most definitely be using this recipe over and over again. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEEZJAZE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2002
Very special and tasty! Served over rice, of course. The amount of sugar is missing - I only used 1/2 tsp. but could have used more. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Szechuan Mango Chicken

Learn how to make sweet and spicy Szechuan-style chicken and mango.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States