Ten Minute Szechuan Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2002
Very strong taste - too salty or maybe too much garlic- I saw that the instructions say to add sugar but it wasn't listed with the ingredients. Maybe this would have made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMU3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moscow, Idaho, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2002
Very special and tasty! Served over rice, of course. The amount of sugar is missing - I only used 1/2 tsp. but could have used more. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
We have updated this recipe to include 1 teaspoon of sugar as per the original submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
I wasn't impressed with this recipe at all. I will say, it looked pretty, but the soy sauce was WAY too overpowering, and the chicken tasted bitter. I even tried adding a little more sugar, but it still tasted like it had soaked in vinegar and soy sauce. I definitely won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROOKIIEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
Every time I make this recipe, it turns out fantastic and people love it. The prep time has made it take over an hour before, depending on how many vegetables I chop up and mix in (e.g. carrots, broccoli, cauliflower, bell pepper, mushroom, green onion) or if I need to de-bone the meat. I would also suggest adding peanuts to the sauce. Using the original recipe, i.e. boneless skinless meat and not chopping any veggies, this is superfast and easy. When cooking the rice, I like to add a little soy sauce and/or Szechuan seasoning to the rice water for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
This recipe is not bad. I would have spiced it up a bit more. It is good, but not as good or as tasty as my least favorite chinese resturaunt in town.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
Very good, and quick. I didn't have green onions or cayenne pepper, so I used zucchini and hot pepper sauce instead. Turned out very well, and I got to use some of my garden vegetables! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
Thought this recipe was good. I added shrimp and more veggies (broccoli, red peppers and regular onions). THanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2003
Pretty Good I think a little more ceyenne pepper for more spice but it was good kind of the like the chicken you get a the chinese places in the malls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REYESGURL02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
I thought this recipe turned out quite well. I put in a lot of cayenne pepper (I like it spicy). I also replaced the chicken with fake chicken that you can buy at health food stores. And I added lots of veggies. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Szechuan Mango Chicken

Learn how to make sweet and spicy Szechuan-style chicken and mango.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States